The Wolf Among Us Episode 2 PS3 Review

Wow, just wow. This episode completely blew me away. I thought the first episode was good, you can see my review here, but this episode was even better. Even more twists and turns then the first and a case of mistaken identity. Without further ado, here’s my review:

The story picks up right where the first episode left off, and if you haven’t played the first episode then stop reading because there will be SPOILERS! Ok, so Snow’s head is found right on the footstep where Faith’s head was found the night before and the next thing you know Wolf is being interrogated by the real police. The story progresses from there until you find out that the head you found wasn’t really Snow. What the hell, right? Anyway you still have two murders to solve and you’re not going to have an easy time doing it.

More fable characters are introduced this time around and it was interesting to see how things played out for them. Especially the ones who ended up as strippers and hookers. This is definitely not Once Upon a Time. I mean seriously, did anyone expect to actually see a fable character stripping? Well I didn’t. Enough about fables behaving badly though, you also get to see what Beauty was being so mysterious about and you find out who the killer is. At least this episode makes you think you do.

Side Note: I’m calling it right now that Crane is not the murderer. I’m not sure who is at this point, but I don’t think it’s him.

As much as I was completely into the first episode, I was even more intrigued and immersed into the second episode. The creators at Telltale are excellent storytellers and they keep you interested in the game as well as the characters in the game. Just like before, when I finished this episode I immediately wanted to play the next.

This game definitely makes up for what The Walking Dead is missing playability wise. Movements continued to not feel stiff as they usually are, but some of the lag issues and long loading times did show up in this episode. While this was disappointing, it wasn’t as bad as it could have been so I’m going to overlook it this time.

Nothing new to report on the graphics since they were the same as the last episode, but I will comment on how they continue to amaze me and just blow me away.

There are another seven trophies in this episode, six being story related and one being missable. Once again the trophies are well done and the names are creative as some even match the fable’s legend. Like last time, certain fables that have to be unlocked can be missed, but it’s not too hard to go back and get it.

TIP: The first two missable fables are in the second chapter. Here you have to decide how you want to treat the suspect you brought in. Go easy on him one time and use all the talking options and beat the crap out of him the next using none of the talking actions and all of the violent actions. I would recommend creating a new save for this one since it happens early in the game and can mess with your original save file. The next missable fable is right in the third chapter. After you chat with Toad Jr. tell Snow to wait and have a chat with the magic mirror.

As always no multiplayer and I want to say thanks to Telltale for that because there is no reason for it and they realize that so it’s not forced down your throat.

Overall I give this episode a 5 out of 5

What’s Great
+ Amazing story.
+ Twists and turns that make sense.
+ Interesting characters and even more interesting decisions to make.

What’s Not So Great:
Return of some lag, but nothing game breaking.

I was really looking forward to this episode especially after the first one and it did not disappoint. I can’t wait to play the third episode.

My Choices:
– I shut out Crane when talking about Snow’s death.
– I forced my suspect to talk.
– I told Snow not to come to the Trip Trap.
– I hit Georgie.
– I didn’t hit Beast a second time.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

