The Wolf Among Us Episode 5 PS3 Review

Not only did this game start off on a high note, but it ended on one too. This game was hands down my favorite game this month. Even though I felt that the game struggled a little through the middle, the end definitely made up for it.

Also, a warning. There will be SPOILERS. You’ve been warned

The story picks up right where episode four left off. Wolf is standing in the room with the Crooked Man, Georgie, Jersey, Vivian, and the Tweedles(or just one if you killed the other…which I did). In that room you can accuse the Crooked Man of the murders of Faith and Lilly, but of course he’ll deny it. He’ll throw Georige under the bus for their murders just before he takes off with Bloody Mary leaving you alone in a room with people who don’t like you all that much.

After that you’ll embark on a high speed chase that was really well done and actually surprising. The scene was unexpected but I have to give it to Telltale for pulling it off as well as they did. After that you’ll deal with Georgie who tells you the Crooked Man ordered the hit on Faith and Lilly. Vivian tells you the truth behind the ribbons and Bloody Mary. After that you’re off to find the Crooked Man and Bloody Mary. The fight scene with Bloody Mary was another action intense scene that I also wasn’t expecting but thoroughly enjoyed it.

Decide what you’re going to do with the Crooked Man and after that stand trial. Try to win the crowd of fables in your favor and see how it ends. After that it seems all is well in Fabletown, but is it? Have one more conversation with Nerissa and you can see all along why I didn’t trust her.

This episode was truly exciting which was really unexpected. I wasn’t expecting it to be so action packed, but it was a pleasant surprise. I was totally hooked on this episode even though I thought it was a little shorter then the rest.

This episode ran just as smooth and flawless as the first episode. All the lag and freezing from the previous two episodes was gone making the playability smooth and effortless.

Graphics were the same as the previous four episodes and were really well done especially during the action scenes. I expected some minor flaws here and there during the action sequences, but there were none.

If you played your cards right, you’ll be getting 8 new trophies after this episode. Six for playing the story, one that is missable for unlocking all of the fables for this episode, and a shiny new platinum trophy. Unlike The Walking Dead, this platinum trophy has an actual image, not just an image of a platinum trophy. I really appreciate this too because it shows that thought was put into it.

Tip: There is only one missable fable and you can find it in Chapter 3. When talking to Bloody Mary, choose to actually talk to her and not hit her. This will unlock a fable and make you one stop closer to your trophy.

Of course there is no multiplayer and it’s not like you actually need it.

Overall I give this episode a 5 out of 5

What’s Great:
+ Great way to end the season.
+ Awesome action sequences.
+ A twist at the end.

What’s Not So Great:
A little on the short side.

Overall I really enjoyed this game. it had its ups and downs like any game, but it was really good. If you haven’t played this game, then I suggest you do. This is one game you don’t want to miss.

My Choices:
– I killed Georgie.
– I brought the Crooked Man back alive so that he would stand trial
– I threw the Crooked Man down the Witching Well.
– I accepted TJ’s gift for Snow.
– My last words to Nerissa were “I hope I’ve done some good here.”

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

