Throwback Thursday Review – Mass Effect 2

I’ve been a gamer for a long, long, long time. I don’t even want to count the years because it will make me feel old, but that’s not the point. Only recently have I started adding in my two cents via gaming reviews and opinion pieces, so I thought it would be fun to go back and start reviewing games that I’ve got the platinum on or simply got a 100% on. I’m going to call this series Throwback Thursday, and I hope you enjoy it!


Ah, my first platinum. Everyone remembers their first platinum trophy. When they got it, the struggles they faced to get it, the anticipation of having just one trophy left before getting the platinum. My very first platinum was Mass Effect 2. I have to admit that I wasn’t really a trophy hunter before this game, but after getting this platinum I was addicted. I specifically picked this game to be my first platinum. I had already played this game over six times and did everything except my insane playthrough and finding someone to romance. I absolutely loved this game and figured that it would be best for my first platinum. Here’s what I thought about the game:

The second game in the series, you play as Commander Shepard savior of the galaxy and all around space badass. The only problem is that within the first 10 minutes you die. Yeah, you get spaced after your precious Normandy is destroyed and you help most of your people to safety, really just the ones that matter to the series. Everyone else? Yeah, they’re totally dead. Not coming back at all. Your journey as Shepard doesn’t end there though. Cerberus brings you back to life so that you can risk your life once more and go on a suicide mission…where you could possibly die…again.

Although the main story revolves around saving the galaxy as only Commander Shepard can do, there is also the sub plot to the story which is gathering your new crew. Some faces will be new and some will be familiar. Each crew member is important to your overall mission and you have to work to get them on your side to work not only with you, but also with each other. The whole mission as well as their lives and your own depend on it.

Till this day, I can not get enough of this game. This is one of the games that after I got the platinum I still play from time to time just because. There is nothing about this game that will bore you, nothing that will make you feel like you’re completing the same task over and over again. Every part of this game is interesting and will have you hooked. I know it’s weird for me to say, but for some reason I also really enjoyed the whole data mining the planets thing. I spent way too much time looking for resources and picking up side missions, but I still found it fun. Not to mention all of the DLC that will keep you coming back for more.

The characters in this game are one of the reasons that this game is so awesome. The crew of voice actors used in this game bring it to life in ways that will give your crew a more human aspect to them. As Shepard you’ll have lengthy discussions with them, help them with some personal missions, and come to care about them. You’ll even get the chance to form some romantic relationships with some of them because lets face it, when you’re going on a suicide mission you want to get laid before the big battle just in case you die.

Kudos: I have to give a major kudos to BioWare for creating some pretty awesome characters and awesome stories to go with the characters. The characters in each game, especially this one, are as real as can be. They have very human flaws and very human qualities making them not only relatable but also likable.

Boo: While I just gave a major kudos, I also have to give out a boo. it hurts, but I didn’t like the fact that there were no female options for my FemShep just a continuing relationship from the previous game. (To me, Kelly Chambers doesn’t count. I just used her from time to time to feed my fish so they wouldn’t die. What? They were expensive fish!) Jack, Miranda, and Samara were all unavailable leaving me to have to ultimately romance Thane just to get a trophy.

The playability of this game isn’t bad, but it’s not the greatest either. For a game that is supposed to be an RPG, the gunplay is actually quite decent and enjoyable when mixed with specific powers that your Shepard has. Playing as a biotic I enjoyed using those powers to help not only myself but my squad as well as we fought our way through various different enemies. The cover system is a bit sketchy and at times awkward to control, but it’s decent. I did have a problem with various different bus and glitches throughout this game. I always create a backup save and lucky I do because on a few occasions my game hard froze and when restarted my file was corrupted.

The graphics on this game are pretty decent when you think about the time it was released. If you’re playing this game today for the first time then the graphics still hold up and the game looks good. I think that graphics holding up to the test of time is a pretty big thing since not a lot of games can accomplish this.

There are a total of 59 trophies for this game including all of the DLC trophies. All of the DLC is included with the purchase of this game with the exception of Arrival. All of the trophies are pretty much do-able with little to no work. For the specific powers trophies you can use your squad mates so you don’t have to play a class that you don’t like, and gaining the loyalty of your squad mates is easy as long as you play as a full paragon or renegade. The only two trophies that gave me a hard time were Brawler and Insanity. With Brawler, you have to punch and knock back 20 enemies and then shoot them as well as kill them. The melee in this game is awkward so I suggest doing this on the husks since they are the easiest to kill. As for Insanity…I’m not going to lie, the insanity mode is just well…insane. Unlike the dumbed down insane difficulty of Mass Effect 3, this insane difficulty is extremely hard. You will die…like a lot. You’ll most likely scream and yell and curse the game as you spend 3 hours on a side mission, but it’s worth it.

This game came out way before the era of every game needing to have a multiplayer, so it has no multiplayer. This is perfectly fine with me too because I like my RPG games to be single player and have no multiplayer aspect to them at all. An RPG is about my experience as a character and that’s it. It doesn’t need to be shared.

Overall I give this game a 4 out of 5

What’s Great:
+ Great Story.
+ Likeable characters that are flawed in their own way making them more human.
+ Huge replayability factor, I’ve played this game more then 6 times now and each time I find out something new

What’s Not So Great:
Game breaking bugs. Files getting corrupted and not being able to use them anymore is a big deal

Out of the three Mass Effect games, this one is by far my favorite. It has everything you could possibly want in a game and more. If you haven’t played the Mass Effect series, then you’re missing out especially since the first one is now available on PS3. Or maybe you played the first one and hated it, then you’re still missing out because this one is 10 times better and will make you fall in love with the series. This is definitely a game that every gamer should experience at least once.

Join me next time when I review my second platinum – Mass Effect 3! (Surprising right? Seeing as how much I loved 2 that my second platinum would be 3. I like to keep people guessing.)

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

