Same Game Different Console

After writing my throwback reviews for Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune, it made me realize that these are just two of the games that I’ve been playing since the early days of Nintendo. It also made me realize that these aren’t the only two games that each time a new one is released for a new console I immediately pick them up without question. Another game I do this for is Tetris. If you think about it, since the Nintendo version of these games they’ve basically been the same no matter which console they’re on. Sure there are a few additions here and there, but essentially they’re the same game.

Not only did I play Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune on Nintendo, but I also picked them up as hand held versions. Remember when hand held versions of a game were a popular thing? And I’m not talking about a PS Vita type game, but these were just that one game on one little hand held system.

Handheld

Essentially these were the same as the Nintendo versions of the game and then this continued on to the Wii versions, the PS3 versions and now even the PS4 versions.. The only thing that has thankfully changed over the years is the graphics but the core of each game is still the same. Sure there are new “features” of each game, new mini games and now multiplayer but they’re each the same thing. You could pick up the Nintendo version of Tetris and basically get the same experience that you would have on the PS4 version.

I know I’m not the only one that does this, so why? Why do we continue to buy games that are basically the same as the previous ones but on a different console? Why don’t we just play them on the original console? For me it’s nostalgia. I have a lot of great memories with each of these games and playing them again not only makes some new memories but brings up a lot of old ones. I’m pretty sure this is also why these games get remade as much as they do. Game companies bank on the fact that people have played these games before and that they’ll want to play them again on a new console. Not to mention that sometimes you don’t have the original console or maybe the original cartridge no longer works. All the usual tricks for my Nintendo version of Tetris no longer work and the cartridge is just done, so why not get a new version of a game that I know I’m going to enjoy?

This is one of those times when the game companies are essentially right. If a new Jeopardy or Wheel of Fortune came out for the PS4 I would definitely pick it up. I’ve already picked up the PS4 version of Tetris even though I haven’t had the chance to try it out yet. Ugh…Backlog. What I do appreciate though is that these games at least don’t try to rip you off by charging the full price that you would normally pay for a new game. It’s nice that for half the price of a regular game or even less you can have a new game that brings back some old memories and allows you to make a few more.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

