Throwback Thursday Review – Tearaway

While searching for Black Friday deals last year, I seen this new little game for the PS Vita and decided why not. It looked like a pretty easy platinum and it was cheap. After playing for a while, I realized that I was actually enjoying the game and found myself playing more and more and ignoring everything else. Here’s what I thought about Tearaway.

In Tearaway you’ll play as either Iota or Atoi, both are messengers who need to deliver a message to the person in the sky. The person in the sky, The You, is well…you. During the game you’ll navigate through this paper world helping people and solving their problems all while trying to deliver the message. Throughout this time you’ll get to create your own paper creations and battle baddies who are trying to stop you from delivering your important message.

When I first started the game I rolled my eyes and just wanted to get on with playing, I soon realized that this little game had an actual story with heart. The story of the messenger soon had me immersed in the game and I was eager to see what would happen next. Not only that but I was actually having fun. I liked creating things not only for my character, Atoi, but also for the creatures that needed things throughout the game. Although the game is similar to Little Big Planet, it’s also different. I was pleasantly surprised it wasn’t just Little Big Planet 2.0 with new characters.

When it comes to playability on the Vita, everyone knows that at times it’s not so great. It is a handheld device so it’s to be expected, but this is the first game that I’ve seen on the Vita that has utilized every single thing that the Vita has to offer. Touch screens, cameras, controls, and motion. The game uses all of these and they use it really well. I was extremely impressed how flawlessly the game flowed and how easy the use of the different aspects on the Vita were incorporated into the game. Everything worked perfectly and there were no glitches or bugs to report about.

While the graphics on this game seem simple, they’re actually complex and full of little details. This is fitting for the game that is made up of a paper world. Different from just about anything else I’ve seen, I was surprised to see so much detail in what just looked like…well paper. It was truly visually stunning and some of the best graphics that I’ve seen on a Vita game. My only complaint is that everything is a little small. I understand that the Vita is small, but still everything is really really tiny making some things missable.

There are a total of 31 trophies for this game. All of them are extremely easy to get, but I suggest that you just play the game first and then go back for the trophies you missed using chapter select. This game is one of those hidden gems that should be enjoyed without worrying if you got every single trophy. Some trophies require a little bit of a grind and some skill with the motion controls, but it’s nothing that you can’t do. Just enjoy the game and the trophies will come naturally.

While there is no multiplayer for this game you’re free to upload your creations to the Tearaway.me site. Show your Iota or Atoi off to the world and see other people’s creations as well.

Overall I give this game a 5 out of 5

What’s Great:
+ Simple but touching story.
+ Utilizes all of the Vitas controls flawlessly
+ Glitch and bug free
+ Not just a copy of Little Big Planet

What’s Not So Great:
Everything is a little on the small since the Vita screen is small.

Do not pass up on this game because you think it’s a childs game or just another Little Big Planet. This game is not that. It’s truly something different and something that I haven’t seen before. You would seriously be missing out if you didn’t add this game to your collection.

Join me next week when I review my 15th platinum The Walking Dead: Season 1 (PS Vita). I can tell you this right now, that playthrough went a hell of a lot better then Season 2 on the Vita did which was why I was so surprised when Season 2 performed as horribly as it did.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

