Throwback Thursday Review – Resogun

Resogun was the first PS+ game released for the PS4. For many this was the first game that they actually played on their PS4. While that wasn’t the case with me, I chose Knack as my first PS4 game, I made my way into playing this game when my very small PS4 library at the time ran out. With nothing left to play I thought what the hell and gave this game a try. Here’s what I thought about the game.

Save the last humans. That’s as much of a plot you’re going to get for this game. You play as a little space ship in this side scrolling shooter and you have to save the humans in each different level before fighting that level’s main boss. If you have a good imagination I guess you could come up with your own plot for this game. Maybe each main boss is trying to capture that levels humans for some nefarious plan and it’s up to you and your little space ship to stop him! Or…maybe not.

Even though this game has no plot you’ll quickly become addicted to it as you go through each level ducking, dipping, and dodging all different kinds of space enemies. Each level has it’s own pattern to how the enemies appear and you’ll develop strategies for each one making your mind actually work, or you could just ignore all of that and mindlessly shoot everything in sight. The choice is yours and that’s what makes this game so great.

What’s also great about this game is that it’s super easy to play. The controls are super simple and you really aren’t required to do all that much. The easy playability of this game makes it quick to learn and quick to advance through the different levels of difficulty this game has to offer. You could seriously go from playing the easiest mode to start with and then playing the hardest mode within a few hours. There’s also the added bonus that there aren’t any game breaking bugs or glitches in this game.

While these graphics don’t show what the PS4 is capable of graphics wise, they’re still fitting for the game and actually add to the game. This isn’t the little pixilated side scroller that most people are expecting, instead each level is 3D. There’s a symmetry to the graphics of this game that makes them in their own way stunning.

There are a total of 51 trophies for this game with 34 for the base game and then the other 17 in DLC. The trophies are fairly simple for this game and range from just completing the game, to playing on the different difficulties, to saving all the humans, and using different ships. If you just play the game and increase your level of difficulty these trophies should just come naturally. There are a few you have to work for, but you don’t have to do anything really all that crazy to get them.

Kudos: While there are two packs of DLC for this game, the first pack, Construction Kit, is free! Not many games have free DLC these days, unless the company messed up and is giving away DLC as a gift, so take it while you can. I haven’t gotten a chance to try out any of the DLC for this game yet, but when I clear up some of my backlog I’ll give it a try.

Multiplayer is in the form of Online Co-Op. The last time I played this game the servers weren’t all that great and I suffered from a lot of disconnects. This sucked because the Co-Op for this game is a nice bonus and if you’re playing with an experience player it can help you get through some of the more difficult levels. I haven’t played the game since I got the platinum so I’m not sure if this has been fixed or not, but it’s worth a try if you’re just starting to play this game.

Overall I give this game a 4 out of 5

What’s Great:
+ The game allows you to play mindlessly and just shoot randomly or develop a strategy to complete each level.
+ Unexpected graphics for a side scroller that are fitting and stunning in their own way.
+ Online Co-Op is an added bonus for some extra fun.
+ Bug and glitch free.

What’s Not So Great:
No plot or even anything that resembles a story.
Not so great online servers.

This is a really cool little game that you shouldn’t pass up on even if you didn’t get it for free. If you got it for free and it’s just sitting in your library then why the hell haven’t you played it yet? I really can’t see a reason why anyone would hate this game, if you’re looking for something where you can mindlessly shoot stuff, this is your game. If your looking for a challenge and looking to play a game where you need a strategy, this is your game. This is one of the games that I can say is just about for everyone.

Join me next week when I review my 18th platinum trophy Playstation All Stars Battle Royal. I got this game on sale, for what I thought was a pretty awesome price at the time, for the PS3 and PS Vita. Little did I know that if I waited a little longer I could have gotten both of them free with PS+, but you know how that goes.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

