PAX South Impressions

This past weekend was the first ever PAX South. This is actually pretty cool because seriously what gamer doesn’t love a convention dedicated to gaming? Anyway, even though I wasn’t able to attend this year, there’s always next year, I was hoping to hear some pretty big news coming out of PAX South especially since this was the first one. Might as well start out with a bang right? Even though the weekend didn’t really turn out how I expected, not that much was really announced, here’s what did manage to catch my attention.

At the start of PAX South there were whispers that Borderlands 3 would be teased. Of course this made sense. There is no way that this franchise wouldn’t continue. It’s inevitable that there would be a Borderlands 3, even though I wasn’t really expecting one all that soon especially with the release of the Handsome Collection for PS4. I was thinking something along the lines of a screen shot or even a small trailer would be released, but I was wrong. So wrong. All that was announced was that they were looking for a team to create Borderlands 3. What happened to the old team? At the moment this game is just a thought in someone’s head. It was a huge let down to know that they’re not even working on a new Borderlands until they find this team of “Industry Badasses.”

DLC! I expected a lot of DLC information to be dropped this weekend especially with the overload of games that came out this past October and November. All I got though was some Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel DLC announcements. While I’m not really all that excited about the new character Lady Hammerlock, I’ve never been interested in buying character DLC’s. This is one of the things that I think should be included with the game to begin with. Don’t try to sell me extra characters after the game release. Anyway, I was interested in this major DLC that is supposed allow you to go inside the mind of Claptrap. Not that much was said about it, just that it was going to be the biggest DLC that they ever made. Hopefully it doesn’t come with a big DLC price tag.

There has been absolutely no information about Tales from the Borderlands since the initial release of episode one, but there was a small teaser this weekend that showed Scooter in the next episode. I was hoping for something more, like a release date, but oh well. I guess the next episode will be released when it’s going to be released teaching all of us to actually wait until all 5 episodes come out before purchasing the game.

While we’re on the topic of Borderlands…how about a Borderlands 1 remastered game? Sure, why not? While there’s no official news on the topic, it was said that there was a possibility of this game being remastered. I’m sure they’re just waiting to see how much this new Handsome Jack Collection makes before remastering the first game.

Now for something not Borderlands related, Dungeon Defenders 2! It was nice to hear that the game went back to its original roots. I was hoping for a release date for the PS4, but nothing was even said about the PS4 version. I have to say that I absolutely loved Dungeon Defenders and spent countless amounts of hours playing this game over and over again. It’s seriously sad that the servers were shut down and nothing was done about it.

Overall I have to say that I was just a little disappointed. I really expected the news stories to be overwhelming this weekend and filled with announcement after announcement. I know a lot of people were looking for some HUGE announcements like Mass Effect 4, Fallout 4, something Elder Scrolls related, and a couple of other biggies but I know that these will likely come during E3. What I was hoping for was some decent DLC announcements on the Dragon Age: Inquisition front. I think this would have been a great time for them to start announcing some big DLC’s for this games seeing as it came out last year, but I guess we’ll just have to keep waiting. Other then that I’m looking forward to the next gaming convention that will be coming up.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

