Throwback Thursday Review – Diablo 3 (PS3)

I was so excited for this game when it came out! Not really being a PC gamer I’ve heard about this game from a couple of people and how awesome it was but never got the chance to play it. Once this was added as a PS3 game I just knew I had to give it a try. Here’s what I thought about Diablo 3.

Since this is the third installment of the game and I didn’t play the previous two, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to catch onto the story and be able to follow along. I’m glad to say that the story, even though interesting, is simple enough that you can play this game without playing the previous two. In Diablo 3 you get to choose from six different characters and classes. To be honest I didn’t even try out all six characters. I played as the Demon Hunter and absolutely loved it so I just played as the Demon Hunter the whole time. Back to the plot of the story, it’s a basic Heaven vs. Hell type of thing where the lords of Hell are trying to overtake the Heavens and it’s up to you to stop them. You’ll have some help from Tyrael, a fallen angel, along with a variety of other characters throughout your journey.

When you play this game for the first time, the story will hook you and keep you playing. It flows nicely and it keeps you interested enough that you have to see what happens next. After you’ve played 6+ times the story gets a little boring and by that time you really aren’t playing for the story anymore as much as for the loot. Either way you’ll still be playing this game for hours and hours upon end. Just to tell you how into this game I was, I played for just about three months straight. I would suggest playing on different difficulties for each playthrough since it keeps things challenging unless of course you just want to randomly kill things. The choice is really up to you but I enjoyed the challenge of advancing the difficultly level each time I started a new game.

The playability of this game is simple. You run around, kill stuff, loot, and complete quests. The only thing that can get a little tricky is leveling up your character and managing your inventory. If you’re used to the types of games that have you constantly doing this then it’ll be a breeze, but if you aren’t I can see where things can get a little tricky. Either way you should be able to learn quickly enough how to manage your inventory and how to level up your character. My various different playthroughs of this game were all bug and glitch free making me a very happy camper.

The graphics on this game aren’t bad. They aren’t the greatest either but there’s really nothing to complain about when it comes to the graphics. The only thing I can nit pick on if I really wanted to was that everything just seemed very small. The cut scenes are pretty phenomenal though so bonus points there.

There are a total of 46 trophies for this game which aren’t a lot but there’s a reason that this platinum is as rare as it is. You’ll have no problems completing the story trophies or even the leveling up trophies. If you play long enough you’ll reach level 60 in no time. As long as you continue to up your difficulty level you’ll also get the trophies for completing the boss battles on the harder difficulties as well with no trouble. The only trophies that will give you the most trouble are All That Glitters and Demon Slayer (Hardcore). With Demon Slayer (Hardcore) you have to play a character in hardcore mode and get them to level 30. The only catch is that in Hardcore mode if you die then you’re character can no longer be used. For this I would recommend playing a ranged character like the Demon Hunter. Now for All That Glitters. For this you will have to farm your way to 5,000,000 gold. The gold you get from selling items doesn’t count and this strictly has to be gold that you’ve picked up throughout the game. This will require a lot of farming and a lot of playthroughs.

Not really a big fan of multiplayer I have to say that I thought this game had some pretty badass multiplayer. I actually enjoyed opening my game up to random people and having them join my game. Not only did you get more experience this way but you also got more gold this way as well. Most of the people I encountered were friendly enough and I had no problem doing this. The only thing I would suggest is playing through the story by yourself the first time to truly experience the story before opening up your game or joining someone’s game.

Overall I give this game a 4.5 out of 5

What’s Great:
+ Interesting enough story that will hold your attention the first few times you play.
+ Bug and glitch free.
+ Badass multiplayer makes the game more enjoyable.
+ Phenomenal cut scenes.

What’s Not So Great:
Farming trophies are bad.

I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I spent a lot of time playing it and basically knew all of the ins and outs that this game had to offer. The only real problem I had was with the whole farming things to reach the 5,000,000 gold which made the game just a little less enjoyable. Other then that it has a cool story and it offers a lot of game play for your money. I would suggest picking this game up and giving it a try.

Next week is the last Throwback Thursday Platinum Trophy review. I’ll be reviewing my 22nd platinum trophy Smart As. This was given for free one month with PS+ and since I like brain type games I knew I had to give this one a try. Even though the platinum trophy reviews are done after next week, fear not because after that I’ll be reviewing the games that I’ve completed at 100% that had no platinum trophy.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a comment