Should Games Be Turned Into Movies?

It seems all too often now there is always some sort of news about some video game being turned into a full blown live action movie. Sure, some of these movies are successful when it comes to the dollar amount that they make and most of them have huge stars in them just to push up the box office money taken in, but does that mean that games should be turned into movies?

When I think of games being turned into movies, I think of the first video game turned live action movie that I’ve ever seen which was Super Mario Bros. This movie was released in the early 90’s and loosely based off of Super Mario Brothers. I have fond memories of watching this movie on VHS when it was released even though it wasn’t received all that well by critics. Even though this movie was categorized as a failure, that didn’t stop studio’s from making more movies based off of video games.

After Super Mario Bros., there was just a stream of these movies being made. Just to name a few you have Double Dragon, Mortal Kombat, Tomb Raider, Resident Evil, Alone in the Dark, Silent Hill, BloodRayne, Max Payne, and Need For Speed. While some of these movies were good, others were not (I’m totally looking at you BloodRayne, what a horrible horrible movie you turned out to be). If you add up the good vs. bad column, the bad kind of outweighs the good which is a trend when it comes to these kinds of movies.

Sometimes just the thought of one of my favorite games being turned into a movie makes me cringe just a bit. As much as I love Mass Effect, I really don’t want to see it turned into a movie. That game is based solely on decisions and interactions made by the PLAYER. In a movie Shepard would be controlled by the writer/director/producer and making choices that maybe I wouldn’t make, not to mention that the role of Shepard will probably go to someone who is male. This kind of ruins it for me since the choices made in the movie will be seen as “cannon” making my choices seem irrelevant in the Mass Effect universe.

While I won’t be spending my money to go see a Mass Effect movie when it finally gets made, I am eager to see The Last of Us made into a movie. So why am I so eager to see this movie when I’ve already expressed how much I don’t want to see Mass Effect being turned into a movie? The answer to this is really simple; The Last of Us is a linear story. No matter what, the same things are going to happen in the game whether I want them to or not. I don’t make any of the choices in this game, the game does that for me and I’m just along for the ride. While this doesn’t mean that the movie is going to be good, I’m still eager to see what a live action movie would look like.

Final verdict? Should games be turned into movies? Yes and no. I give the go ahead to movies based on games that contain a linear story so that each and every person playing the game and watching the movie has experienced the same exact game and movie. I give the no go to movies based on games that are solely based on decisions that the player has to make.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

