Gaming Goals for the New Year – January 2016 – UPDATE

The first month of the new year is already gone, which still blows my mind when I think about it, and it’s that time again where I let you know about my progress, if there was any progress, on the goals that I set for myself this year. I know that I set a bunch of goals for the new year and was extremely ambitious about them, but I do love a challenge. Here’s a breakdown of my goal progress.

2016 Gaming Goals

Have a total of 80 platinum trophies.
– Starting # of Platinum Trophies: 48
– Ending # of Platinum Trophies: 51
I made probably the best progress on this goal that I have in months. It felt good to get that many platinum trophies. Will it happen every single month this year? I have no idea but I’m going to try as hard as possible to reach that goal of 80.

Have a total of 8,500 trophies.
– Starting # of Trophies: 5,616
– Ending # of Trophies: 5,731
A decent amount of trophies this month brining me closer to the 6,000 mark. This one will have to be taken in small steps I think with my next milestone being 6,000 then 6,500 and so on. With the amount of games on my agenda this year I still think this goal is pretty feasible, but we’ll see.

Have 120 games completed at 100%
– Starting # of Games 100% Complete: 81
– Ending # of Games 100% Complete: 85
For this goal, I’m thinking that just like last year, I’ll probably go way past it which always makes me feel good. Getting 100% on a bunch of games this month really helped me out especially since I went back and got done a couple of DLC trophies that were hanging on my PS3 for the longest time. Overall I would say that this was good progress.

Have an overall completion rating of 75%
– Starting Completion Rate: 50.62%
– Ending Completion Rate: 50.90%
Small steps with this goal, very small steps. As I complete more games that are hanging at anything but 100%, I know for a fact that this number will rise. This goal is basically all about finishing what I already started and I’m pretty confident that I can get there this year.

Start and get the platinum trophy or 100% completion on 30 backlogged games
– Starting Number of Backlogged Games Completed (Out of the 30 That Were Listed): 0
– Ending Number of Backlogged Games Completed (Out of the 30 That Were Listed): 2
I think that for starting this goal brand new this year that I made some pretty good progress on it overall. I was able to knock two games completely off my list for the year which included Snoopy’s Grand Adventure (PS4) and Fat Princess Adventures (PS4). I look forward to completing even more games from this list.

Get the platinum trophy or 100% completion on 20 already started backlogged games.
– Starting Number of Backlogged Games Completed (Out of the 20 That Were Listed): 0
– Ending Number of Backlogged Games Completed (Out of the 20 That Were Listed): 1
I have to admit that I started with the easiest of the games that I have listed and I did it because, well because it was easy to be honest. There were a bunch of games that I had listed and looking at the list makes me cringe sometimes, but I thought it would be best to start with something I knew I could just play and knock out in a day. Out of my list of 20 games I was able to finally complete Borderlands 2 (PS3) to 100% getting rid of those pesky three DLC trophies that were ruining my completion rating.

Only pre-order 5 new games and save the rest for Black Friday and holiday sales.
– Starting Number of Pre-Orders: 0
– Ending Number of Pre-Orders: 1
This month I went ahead and got in my pre-order for Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End, which I had mentioned in the first blog. I debated pre-ordering Far Cry Primal and finally decided against it. That one I’m going to wait until it goes on sale leaving me with more than enough slots open for the year.

That was my progress for the month. Overall I would say that I was pretty successful, but isn’t that how resolutions at the beginning of the year kinda go? Come January you think you can do anything but then by mid-February you realize that you aren’t going to get any of that done. I’m going to try to remain positive this year as I work on my goals this upcoming month. I’ll let you know the progress I made next month.

TwitterYouTube

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

