Unravel Review (PS4)

Like a lot of people, I fell absolutely head over heels in love with this game when it was first announced at E3. The story that was behind the making of it and how passionate the people who created it were was one of the things that made me so in love with this game. Then there was the small story that was told behind it and I was caught hook, line, and sinker. I had to have this game and I had to have the experience that was Unravel. I have to admit that after playing Firewatch, I was a little weary of this game but decide to give it a try anyway. Keep reading to find out what I thought about it.

In Unravel, you’ll play as Yarny, a cute little yarn figure, similar to Sackboy but less comical and more lovable. Yarny is curious about everything that surrounds him with a genuine curiosity, almost like a child, and his one goal is to collect memories. Each level in Unravel is a different memory and it basically shows the progression of a now old woman. You visit each memory through the different pictures around the house and while most of the memories are good, there are some that aren’t so good, such is life though. As you play Yarny he unravels little by little with each memory, which I like to think represents the piece inside of you that stays with every memory that you keep. While the game initially ends on a very bitter sweet note, it’s then turned into something uplifting and leaves the player with a sense of completion and maybe something more.

Kudos: It’s been a while since I was so emotionally attached to a game. I felt like I was living through each of this old woman’s memories and experiencing the ups and downs of her life as you explored as Yarny. The picture around the house was something that hit home for me as it reminded me of my late grandmother who had a similar collection of photos around her apartment. It was something that I hadn’t thought about in a while and Unravel reminded me of that collection. I became so emotionally attached to the game that I sobbed like a baby at the end of the game. This game just hit home in so many ways that I can’t see how someone wouldn’t be able to in some way relate to this game.

Needless to say, I couldn’t stop playing this game. I’m not really one that’s into puzzle platformer’s, but the story of this game and the meaning behind it just drew me in and I couldn’t stop playing. I was eager to see how each memory progressed and how each memory differed from the other. I felt like in a way this game was very similar to Journey, but also different and it wasn’t a bad thing. I think that Unravel kind of expands on Journey in a way concentrating on one’s memories throughout life. There was nothing that I didn’t like about this game, even when I died, which will happen a lot, I was still eager to pick back up where I left off and finish the memory.

I will say that this game takes a little while to get used to with all of the swinging and learning what to do with your excess yarn and trying to solve each puzzle in the memories, but once you get the hang of it the game is super simple. Each memory had a natural flow to it with the way that they progressed, and this game was perfect at release and I’m talking about a game with no bugs or game breaking glitches. A very rare and welcomed occurrence which only made playing this game more enjoyable.

The graphics for this game were absolutely stunning and filled with detail. Each memory was so clearly depicted in the game that it made it feel like you were actually in that memory with Yarny as he explored. For something that wasn’t considered a AAA game, it definitely had the graphics of it and they just blew me away. Sometimes you find a game where you think, “how can graphics get any better than this” and this is one of those games.

I’m only going to say this once. Do not play this game for the trophies Are the 26 trophies that come with this game easy to get? Yes, but you shouldn’t be playing this game for the trophies. This game is so much more than just trophies and it’s like the trophies are a bonus to having the experience you’ll have when playing Unravel. While the trophies are easy, it is a little tricky to collect all of the secrets and not die while playing each memory. Once you get used to the memory and know what to expect though, you’ll be able to easily walk through each memory without dying.

This is one of those games where you are the one that has to experience it alone and does not need a multiplayer experience to make this game more playable.

Overall I give this game a 5 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ This game will make you feel things…seriously it will. Don’t be surprised if you’re sobbing like a baby by the end of the game.
+ A beautiful and touching story that just about anyone can relate to.
+ Bonus points because Yarny is adorable! He’s genuine and curious and makes exploring each memory fun and exciting. Not only do you learn as you play, but Yarny does as well.
+ No bugs or glitches making this a carefree game that you can go into not having to worry.
+ Absolutely stunning and beautiful graphics.

What’s Not So Great:
Controls take a little while to get used to, but once you do it’ll be easy and your gameplay will be carefree.

I’m giving this game a strong recommendation for just about anyone to pick up right now and go play. It’s one of those games that you want to have the experience of playing, even if you don’t get all the trophies for the game. I can’t stress enough how this game will make you feel things and just about anyone can relate to it. Besides who can say no to the cuteness that is Yarny? This $19.99 buy is worth every single penny and you won’t regret adding this game to your collection.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

