The Walking Dead: Michonne – Episode 2 – Give NO Shelter Review (PS4)

After the last episode of this game, I really wasn’t expecting much since I was kind of let down by the game as a whole. I wasn’t even all too eager to play this episode, but I figured I might as well since I paid for the season pass well in advance. Keep reading to find out how the second episode held up.

Give No Shelter starts off right where episode 1 left off. Playing as Michonne it’s up to you and Sam to escape from Norma. How you handle the situation as a whole and whether or not you decided to bring Pete with you are some of the hard choices that you have to make during the course of this episode. Once you escape from Norma and her weird brother Randall. You’ll be tasked with making it to Sam’s house, but it won’t be easy. You’ll have to deal with a hoard of zombies as well as Randall and his goon’s chasing after you. Once you make it to Sam’s house it’s not all that easy either. You’ll be confronted by the people who live there, Sam’s family, as well as have to deal with some serious flashback issues that Michonne has been dealing with throughout episode 1. Ending on another cliffhanger, this is Telltale’s style, the third episode is setup and I’m not really sure how it’s going to play out or if three episodes is going to be enough. At this point, knowing how Telltale is operating I wouldn’t doubt seeing either more episodes added or another season at some point.

Like the previous episode, this episode is a complete and utter snooze fest. Not only was it short, compared to other Telltale episodes but it was just boring and dragged. I have absolutely no idea where they’re going with this story or how it’s going to end and frankly I really don’t care at this point. Although I was originally excited to be able to play as one of my favorite characters from the show, it just didn’t really work out this time for Telltale. Truth be told I would have rather them worked a little longer on a proper season 3 for The Walking Dead rather than this mini game. Sure there were a few suspenseful moments, but they seemed like they had the same copy and paste formula from the first two seasons of The Walking Dead.

Playability wise, I couldn’t find anything wrong with this episode which was a surprise since there was more than a few problems with the first episode. At this point I think it would be jumping the boat a little to say that Telltale has finally gotten their shit together when it comes to loading time issues, stalling issues, and trophy pop issues so I’m going to give it a little more time and a couple of more games before declaring them issues free. Other than that everything functioned how it should although some of the quick time events felt a little awkward. By awkward I mean that even though I pressed the button in the proper amount of time it just felt like it didn’t work.

The graphics were on par with The Walking Dead series the Telltale created as a whole and nothing deviated from that. This game looks and feels like it belongs in the series and that’s a good thing. As I’ve said before, this style doesn’t always work for all of their games, like Game of Thrones, but it works really well for this game and they should continue on this path while changing things up for their other games.

There are a total of 7 trophies for this episode and all you have to do to get them is complete the game, which believe me is hard enough to do without falling asleep. As with the previous episode, the trophy images are uncreative and are basically just numbers. I’m glad none of them were a milestone trophy for me because it would just be horrible not to have some badass trophy image as one of my milestone trophies and be stuck with a number.

This is Telltale so by now you should know that there is no multiplayer for this game.

Overall I give this episode a 2 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ Flashback scenes give a cool insight into the mind of Michonne which really isn’t seen in the TV series.
+ Graphics are on par with the previous two seaons of The Walking Dead as well as the episode before.
+ Common Telltale issues seem to be fixed for now. Emphasis on the for now.

What’s Not So Great:
Lackluster story that is boring and not up to par with the previous two seasons of The Walking Dead.
Besides Michonne everyone else is basically expendable and there’s no connection with them or a reason to actually care about them.
Quicktime events at times just felt awkward and it wasn’t clear if the buttons were responding when being pressed or not.

At this point I’m pretty glad that this is only a three part game because I really couldn’t play five whole episodes of this game. There really isn’t anything that draws you into this game and the only real highlights are the flashback sequences which give you insight into Michonne’s past. The next episode comes out next week and depending on how that goes I’ll give the game as a whole my recommendation or a pass. I’m going to say right now though that something spectacular has to happen in this last episode for me to recommend it so we’ll just have to wait and see.

SPOILERS! Below are the choices that I made for the second episode.

The Walking Dead: Michonne

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

