Arcade Game Series: Dig Dug Review (PS4)

Arcade Game Series: Dig Dug

I played Ms. Pac-Man, I played Pac-Man, so it was only a matter of time that I played Dig Dug in this new Arcade Game Series Collection. This was the last game that I purchased with this series, I am not a fan of Galaga, and even though I played it right after getting the Pac-Man platinum this one took me a little longer. After grinding and grinding for the last trophy, here’s what I thought about the game.

There is absolutely no story for Dig Dug. Nothing. No little story between rounds, no background history, nothing. You play as this little smurf looking character whose goal is to kill all the monsters underground while digging. Round after round you’ll dig your way through the underground killing monsters with your harpoon until you run out of lives or patience.

I never really played Dig Dug, so this was my first experience and it wasn’t all that bad. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I enjoy Ms. Pac-Man, but I definitely enjoy playing retro games on new generation consoles. Even though the environment and the rounds changed from round to round, after a while it did get a little boring as it was the same wash and rinse routine over and over again. I am glad though that this was brought to the PS4 and I’m really liking this series. I would really like for an Arcade Game Series: Space Invaders or an Arcade Game Series: Asteroids because I used to actually have the old fashioned machines that I used to play for hours upon hours during my childhood. So here’s hoping they continue with this series.

This game was glitch free and bug free and ran extremely smooth on the PS4. Unlike the Ms. Pac-Man and Pac-Man game there were no controller issues that I ran into making this a little bit more of an enjoyable experience since everything worked like it should.

The graphics for this game were exactly what I had expected them to be. They were, of course, the same graphics from the original Dig Dug and like Ms. Pac-Man and Pac-Man they had the side border around the screen. I really enjoyed this style and had no problem with it whatsoever. I thought it enhanced the game and made it really feel retro.

Of course this game had trophies and while I don’t like to play games for the trophies, this was one of the selling points for me. There are 21 trophies for this game and they can be a real pain in the ass to get. While most of them are easy and you’ll get them right away, there are those trophies that you have to grind out and play the game over and over again just driving you absolutely mad. Unlike Ms. Pac-Man and Pac-Man which took me a day to complete, this game took me two weeks.

Once again this game missed its mark by not having couch co-op which would have been really fun. This is a truly single player experience even though there is a leader board. While my scores for this game were better than Ms. Pac-Man and Pac-Man they aren’t anything to brag about so we’ll be moving on.

Overall I give this game a 4 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ Another retro game brought to a current generation console and done right.
+ Original graphics and gameplay.
+ Bug and glitch free and definitely the best controls out of the three games that I played.

What’s Not So Great:
Game can get a little boring after a while as you’ll do the same thing over and over again.

Out of the three Arcade Game Series games that I played, I really can’t pick a favorite. I thought they all had their ups and downs, but that they were all good. I would say that if you’re a fan of Dig Dug go ahead and pick this game up because it’s super cheap. If not you’ll probably want to wait for a sale or for it to end up on the PS+ free lineup.

TwitterYouTube

9 Comments

  1. Thanks for the read. I loved Dig Dug and it was one of the cabinets I used to look out for in the arcade days. I’d like to pick this one up but I think the arcade series is overpriced. Imo. Trophies would be the only thing I’d replay Dug for since I played the heck out of it on quarters long ago. Is this available in a collection with the others or must it be purchased individually?

    • You can either purchase it individually, which $3.99 for one game isn’t a bad price, or you can buy the Arcade Game Series 3 in 1 collection for $7.99 and that comes with Dig Dug, Pac-Man, and Galaga.

      • No problem. I would have picked that one up myself, but I’m not a fan of Galaga so it would have been a waste for me.

      • For some reason I could just never really get into that game. I played Galaga DX on the PS3 when it was free and I really didn’t enjoy it all that much.

      • I think it hasn’t aged as well as some other classics. It’s really slow paced, in retrospect. I’ll have to pick up the series and see if it holds up at all for me anymore.

Leave a Reply

