PC Gaming Vs. Console Gaming – Comfort

Last week in the introduction to this multiple part collaboration blog, I posed the question of how comfortable are you playing the platform of your choice and why. So that’s how we’ll start our friendly little debate, with the topic of comfort. Don’t forget to head over to Aaron’s blog (https://aaronmorrsireviews.com/) to see his answer.

For me, it feels like I was born with a controller in my hand. As I said before, my earliest gaming memory goes all the way back to Nintento. I remember sitting in front of the TV, on a nice comfy couch might I add, my little hands gripping this, what then felt like huge, controller and playing Super Mario Brothers. From there I went onto Sega Genesis, which had a completely different controller, before moving on to PS2, then PS3, then PS4. Each controller has been different from the other and it has been a learning curve to learn the placement of each of the buttons and what to press when, but when you think about it, the controllers all have the same basic necessities to them with a few add-on’s here and there as systems progressed.

Video Game Controllers

I would say that with 100% honesty that I am extremely comfortable with my current systems and their controllers to the point where I know the placement of each and every single button like it was the back of my hand. When playing a game of my choice, there isn’t the need to look down at the controller while I play to make sure that I press the right button. I just know. It’s become a sense memory for me as I switch between the different Playstation systems and feel the weight of the controller in my hands. This is also easier than having my hands positioned over the keyboard or having to at any moment reach over and grab for my mouse. Everything that I need is right there in my hand. I have to say that even with simulation games, which are sometimes better played with a mouse, I find that using a controller is actually more efficient. Take Tropico 5 for example, which I happen to currently be playing, I can see how using the mouse to move around the island and place buildings and roads would easily work since this is basically a click here do this type of game, but there’s just something about using the PS4 controller that makes doing all of the things you need to do in Tropico 5 seem effortless.

While we’re also on the topic of comfort, I would like to say that when I play on my systems, I’m also comfortable when I play. This means that I’m not sitting in front of a computer, in a super uncomfortable chair that’s wreaking havoc on my back as I sit all hunched over my keyboard, clicking my way to victory or trying to manage pressing buttons on the keyboard that correspond to walking or shooting or whatever. I’m usually lounging on my couch while I play which makes me feel more relaxed. When I feel more relaxed, I can also play for much longer then I proabably should. I remember those care free days of playing for 8 hours or more at a time and not feeling unformtable at any time. Being on a couch means that I can sit up, I can slouch back, and I could even lay down if I damn well pleased. I like to think that this raises the overall comfort level of playing and actually makes me a better player.

Next week, we’ll let you know who won on the discussion of comfort as we start to tally up the wins and losses for our debate. Since I picked the topic for this week’s debate, I leave it to Aaron to pick next weeks topic.

TwitterYouTube

2 Comments

  1. That part about the computer chair is so accurate it hurts. I’m more of a handheld type of person so I don’t really have a stance on the pc vs console debate, but your post was pretty interesting and informative.

    • Computer chairs are the worst. I don’t think I’ve ever found one that was so comfortable I just wanted to spend the whole day in it. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

