Saints Row IV: Re-elected – How The Saints Save Christmas DLC Review (PS4)

Saints Row IV: Re-elected - How The Saints Saved Christmas

While I like the Saints Row games, I really do, I’ve never really been into the whole idea of getting the DLC for this game. Luckily for me the DLC was included in the Re-elected version of the game for PS4 so I was able to finally experience what a Saints Row DLC included. Keep reading to see if I enjoyed it or now know why I’ll probably always pass on them.

It’s Christmas time in the world of Saints Row! Yes, even though the whole world is gone and it’s basically just the Boss and your crew mates, your crew will still be in the holiday spirit and want to celebrate Christmas because I hear it’s the most wonderful time of the year. I can relate to the Boss this time around as he/she is not a big fan of Christmas, neither am I for my own reasons, but it comes down to the fact that Christmas needs to be saved from the evil Clawz and since there’s no one else to do it, you’ll be assigned the task. Will the Boss be able to save Christmas? Will the Boss finally believe in the magic of Christmas and Christmas time? You’ll have to play the DLC to find out.

I went into this DLC not really knowing what to expect. I knew it would be crazy because it’s Saints Row, but I thought this DLC was a little over the top. The quests that go along with this DLC are mediocre at best and really only take a few minutes each to complete making this DLC take about 1 hour, 2 if you really stretch it and try to get all of the trophies. This time around you’ll work with future Shaundi and the original Santa to take down the evil Clawz. There are a few cool cut scenes and the end cut scene was probably the best out of the whole DLC. I’m not saying that this game made me believe in Christmas again or even like Christmas all that much, but it was nice.

The playability of this DLC is similar to the rest of the game. You’ll go to the ship to get your missions and then go from there, there isn’t anything special that you really have to do or new things that you have to learn. If you’ve been playing this game then it’s the same thing. I didn’t experience any problems with the DLC even though I’ve had a few problems with the game itself, but overall it ran smoothly.

The graphics are the same as the main graphics for Saints Row IV: Re-elected. I have to say that this being a remaster and all, I wasn’t really that impressed with the graphics. I found them to be similar to the PS3 version and not that much improvement made to them. Out of all the remasters that I’ve played, and I played a lot, this was one of the ones where I didn’t spot a visible difference. Maybe it’s just me.

Complete this DLC and you’ll be able to gain an additional 10 trophies. The trophies are pretty easy and if you miss some, because they are story related, you’ll be able to go back and get the trophy that you missed. This was pretty cool since I missed a couple of the story related ones but was able to go back and replay one mission to get the trophy that I needed instead of having to start a new game and play the DLC all over again.

There is co-op play for the whole game and even though I didn’t use it, I’m pretty sure you can play the co-op mode for this DLC as well since everyone who owns the PS4 version should have the DLC. Anyway, if you have a buddy who is also playing Saints Row IV: Re-elected, I don’t see why you shouldn’t be able to play this together.

Overall I give this DLC a 2 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ It’s a Christmas version of Saints Row, chock full of all the crazy antics that Saints Row has to offer.
+ Smooth running DLC that can be played after the main game or while you play the main campaign.

What’s Not So Great:
A story that was a little over the top even for Saints Row.
DLC doesn’t really add all that much to the original story of the game and is only really 1-2 hours long.
For a remaster, the graphics are a little underwhelming and if there’s a Saints Row V, it hopefully will look a lot better.

So, I finally came to the realization that I’ve been missing absolutely nothing when it comes to the Saints Row DLC. It doesn’t really add anything to the story as a whole and it’s just another crazy couple of missions that take place in the Saints Row universe. If you have the Re-elected version of this game then I would say there isn’t a reason why you shouldn’t play it since it’s there, but if you have to pay for it then I would say to give it a huge pass because you really aren’t missing anything.

TwitterYouTube

3 Comments

  1. There were some pretty funny moments, as are with the regular game. It was short n sweet, which I’m fine with. Liked the review!

Leave a Reply

