Sisters Review

Finally HBO had on a movie that I actually wanted to watch this week. I swear at times it’s like every Saturday night they’re premiering a movie that I want to see and other times it seems that the only reason I have HBO is to watch Game of Thrones. Anyway, I’ve been wanting to see this movie but was a little hesitant. This is Tina Fey and Amy Poehler’s first movie since Baby Mama and to me this just seemed like Baby Mama 2. Keep reading to find out if I was right or wrong.

Sisters revolves around the Ellis sisters Maura, Amy Poehler, and Kate, Tina Fey. Their parents are selling their childhood Orlando home and they’ve both been tasked with going in there and cleaning up the bottomless pit that was their room. Upset with their parents for doing this, they decide to throw one more epic party in hopes that their childhood home wouldn’t be sold. Turns out that during the course of this party, Maura learns to live a little while Kate learns to grow up.

As I had previously thought, this is not in any way Baby Mama 2 with a different name. Instead this is a movie that stands on its own. When I’m wrong, I’m wrong and this time I was. This movie is downright hilarious and the antics that go during the course of the movie are crazy. I did like that while the whole movie from start to finish is funny, there is also some meaning to it as well. Always being the responsible one, Maura finally gets to have a minute to herself in order to let loose and be the teenager that she always dreamed of being. Kate on the other hand has been irresponsible her whole life starting in high school and now even as a mother in her 40’s she still acts like she’s in high school. Being tasked with being the mother during their party so that Maura can finally let loose, Kate learns to grow up and actually become the responsible adult that she should be. This was the real kicker as I always like a funny movie that has that extra punch in it that shows some kind of character development. This makes it more of just some slap stick comedy movie and actually a movie with meaning.

What can I say about the cast. The cast of this movie is just as outrageously funny as the always funny combination of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. This is probably because most of the supporting cast came directly off the Saturday Night Live stage. I really like that most of the supporting cast came from SNL because it shows that these people can do so much more than SNL. This has been proven over and over again and it’s always nice to see in an actual movie.

Overall I give this movie a 4.5 out of 5.

The movie was steady throughout even though it did have a little point of over doing it. That didn’t last all that long though and it went back on a steady pace of telling the story that it wanted to tell. Other than that this movie was funny and actually had a point of growing up and learning to let loose just a little. I would say that if you’re a fan of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, especially together, then this is a must watch. Even if you’re not a fan then I would still recommend this movie just because it’s funny as hell and you won’t regret watching it. For me it’s going to be one of those movies that I watch every time I see it on just because it was that good.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

