FEZ Review (PS3)

Fez

I bought this game, that’s right bought it, when it first came out. Unlike everyone else who probably played this game, I didn’t get it for free when it was a PS+ game. The main reason why I was so eager to buy this game that I bought it day one was because I had watched Indie Game: The Movie. I was fascinated with this game and thought it was the coolest thing and just couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. Two years later, keep reading to find out what I think about it now.

FEZ revolves around Gomez who lives a simple little 2D life. Little did he know that the world isn’t 2D. Gomez is introduced to this new 3D world where everything is new and exciting and now for some reason he’s tasked with going around and collecting cubes. There might be a larger story to this, but I really have no idea what the hell it is.

I’m going to try and not go on a rant here, but this has to be one of the worst games that I’ve ever played. While the idea of this game was cool, the execution of it was not. This game is a basic platform puzzler, but it really isn’t all that basic. In order to solve the puzzles you’ll have to figure out the codes within the game which means that you’ll have to know some binary code, which I do (thank you college education), turn it into something else, before turning it into the code that’s in the game in order to solve the puzzles. To be honest with you I couldn’t even figure out the codes for half of the puzzles and had to refer to walkthroughs in order to do so. For me, games should be made for everyone. That doesn’t mean that they shouldn’t be challenging, I very much enjoy challenging games that make me think, but that also means that they shouldn’t be a game that strokes your own ego because you, as a game designer, think you know it all and you’re smarter than everyone else. Games aren’t for that. If you want to show that you’re smarter than everyone else, do it on another platform.

The gameplay for this game, which is supposedly for people on the genius level only, was surprisingly simple. You’ll jump, climb, turn your map, turn your map again, and figure out ways to get through doors. Beat the game and you’ll have to do none of this because you can start a new game + and just fly everywhere. Like I said before, the puzzles are ridiculously hard and almost unsolvable so get ready to use a walkthrough. Other than that the game works fine and even though it looks like the game is glitched at times, I guess it was just supposed to look like that.

The graphics for this game were nice as it was supposed to look retro and it does. That’s probably the nicest thing that I have to say about this game is that the graphics were nice. Each level was unique in it’s own way and even each room was different from the last.

There are 12 trophies for this game and they involve doing everything that this game has to offer. If you don’t care about the trophies, just go ahead and play this game and see how far you get. Not as a downer or anything, but it probably won’t be that far. If you care about the trophies you’ll do what any smart person has done and will use a walkthrough. If you use a walkthrough you’re guaranteed to get all of the trophies for this game.

There is no multiplayer for this game and for that I am thankful because I couldn’t imagine trying to get through this game with another clueless person tagging along.

Overall I give this game a 1 out of 5. – I give it a 1 because I can’t give it a 0.

What’s Great:
+ The graphics look retro and have a lot of detail into them meaning a lot of work went into the graphics for this game and it shows.

What’s Not So Great:
While this game has a story, I’m not really sure what it is. If someone could tell me beyond the brief explanation that I gave at the beginning of this blog I would appreciate it.
Puzzles were created with the intent to show that the game designer was smarter than everyone else.
This game was clearly created to stroke the game designers ego and prove that he could in fact make a game, but only one because he can’t take the criticism and apparently the world doesn’t deserve FEZ 2.

If you haven’t already played this game, then you probably shouldn’t. There is nothing that you’re missing by not playing this game. If you paid for it like I did, then I’m sorry that you wasted your money on something that was as horrible as this game. The only bright side to this game is that there won’t be a sequel.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

