Joy Review

This is another one of those movies that HBO has been promoting for months and months saying that it was coming soon and it finally came. Deciding to skip this one when it was in theaters, because seriously theaters have become so damn expensive and I hate going to see a movie that I might or might not like and wasting good money to do so, I figured I would wait it out. The time has finally come to see this movie so keep reading to see what I thought about it.

Joy is the true story of Joy Mangano, played by Jennifer Lawrence, who was the creator of the Miracle Mop. Not only was she the creator of this Miracle Mop, but she went on develop her own dynasty of different inventions. This didn’t come easy for her though as she suffers through heartbreak, one crazy ass family, and a bunch of other problems that lie in her way. Throughout it all though, she does it and basically lives the American dream.

I was really excited to watch this movie because it brought back the three stars of Silver Linings Playbook, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, and Robert DeNiro. I think that these three actors have an amazing chemistry together and I thought that it would carry over to this movie, but I was wrong. This movie was a complete snooze fest for me and it was long and drawn out and really just not as funny as it had looked to be in the trailers. Yes it tells the story of this American female icon who came from nothing to go on and become the first actual person on QVC who wasn’t a celebrity and sell her invention to millions, but it could have been done in a fashion that as more entertaining.

While this movie had an amazing cast of actors. Half the time all you have to do is tell me that Robert DeNiro is in a movie and I’m sold, but they just couldn’t save this movie. Jennifer Lawrence takes a step down from playing the usual crazy bitch character that works really well for her and it was just kind of eh, while Bradley Cooper plays the somewhat nice guy that’s just eh as well. I expected a lot more from this star studded cast of actors and was just a little disappointed by the outcome.

Overall I give this movie a 2 out of 5.

Unless you have a burning desire to see how the Mircale Mop was created, then I would say to give this movie a pass. The trailer’s that were shown were just a little bit deceptive making this movie out to be a lot funnier than it actually was and I really couldn’t find a time throughout the whole movie where I actually laughed or was even remotely interested in what was going on. It was one of those moments where I was watching this movie wishing that I had chosen to watch something else on my movie night.

TwitterYouTube

2 Comments

  1. Like you I’ve seen it on the Guide for HBO and was thinking about watching it. Gonna have to pass on it though. Have you seen The Danish Girl? That’s another film I was thinking about watching but I’m still on the edge on.

    • I haven’t seen The Danish Girl yet, but I really want to see it. I thought it was going to be a Saturday night premiere thing since HBO was advertising it as such, but I guess I’ll just have to catch it on demand sooner or later.

Leave a Reply

