Throwback Thursday Review – DLC Remix – L.A. Noire – A Slip of the Tongue

So I basically thought this game was meh. I gave it a 2.5 out of 5 when I did the review of it just a little over two years ago. You can read my full review of the game here. Anyway, getting back to the DLC. Some may ask why would I play the DLC if I thought the game was just meh? Basically because I had the edition that had all of the DLC. Believe me if this game didn’t come with the DLC then I would have never bought it, but it did so I played it. Here’s what I thought of the first DLC for the game.

Each DLC presented itself as a new case for Cole. A Slip of the Tongue is a traffic case for Cole and it starts off as a basic car theft. Digging deeper into the case Cole will uncover that it’s so much more than that. That’s the way things usually work right? Something starts off as simple but if you dig deep enough you can always find something. That’s what happens to Cole and this simple traffic case turns into an investigation of an auto fraud racket.

Like the game you have to play as Cole. To this day he is one of my all time worst video game character that I have ever played as. I just do not like this character at all. Not thinking about the character though and going solely on the case itself, I found it to be pretty interesting and there was a lot to do with the case itself. Even though I didn’t care for the game, I found the DLC to hold the same quality as the game and play seamlessly into the game. If you liked the game this was a good thing.

The playability of this DLC is the same as the rest of the game which was a little awkward and clunky at times. It’s also worthy to mention that if you have the DLC pre-loaded or if it came with the game already, then you won’t even notice the DLC playing out because it just takes place while you’re playing like it’s a regular case. The first time I ran though this DLC when I first played this game, I didn’t even know I was playing the DLC until I checked my trophies.

Since the DLC plays into the main game the graphics are the same and they’re simply beautiful. Even today I think that this is one of the games that holds up. While I’m not a big graphics person, I think that these are great and pretty advanced for the time when the game originally came out. I was really impressed throughout the whole game and the DLC with the graphics.

In most cases, the addition of DLC means the addition of trophies and this is one of those cases. There are a total of 5 trophies for this DLC, but they are not easy to come by. You’ll get only one of them for completing the DLC and the other 4 have something specific to do in order to get them. Not to worry though because if you miss out, you can always go to the case selection screen and try again and again until you get the trophies.

Ah, one of those rare games without multiplayer.

Overall I give this DLC a 5 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ An interesting case that adds to the overall game.
+ If the DLC is purchased with the game and installed already when you start, it’ll play seamlessly into the game itself and you probably won’t even notice it.
+ Same beautiful graphics as the main game.

What’s Not So Great:
Same clunky and awkward gameplay that can be found in the main game.

While I wasn’t a huge fan of this game, I will admit that the DLC for this game is actually really good. At times if you’re trying to get all of the trophies, it can be a little frustrating especially if you aren’t a fan of the overall game itself. That still doesn’t take away from the fact that the one thing that this game had was good DLC. Now if you have the disc that comes with the game there’s no reason why you shouldn’t play the DLC. If you have to purchase this DLC, then I would say it’s completely up to you on whether or not you’re actually enjoying the game. If you’re not enjoying the game then I would say pass, but if you’re enjoying the game then I don’t see why you wouldn’t want to play this DLC.

I’ll let you know ahead of time that I have 100% for this game so for the next couple of week’s there are going to be quite a few L.A. Noire DLC reviews. Since I’m not sure which one I completed first and which one I completed last I’ll just go in order of which they came out. That means that next week’s Throwback Thursday Review – DLC Remix will be of L.A. Noire – The Naked City.

TwitterYouTube

2 Comments

  1. Really interesting write up. I haven’t played the DLC but liked the game overall. I agree the character wasn’t all that great and didn’t really care about him. But if it was a movie, I think Ryan Gosling would play him well

    • If you liked the game you’ll probably like the DLC, although it probably wouldn’t be worth it to download the DLC. You would probably be better off buying the complete game used since it might be cheaper.

      I don’t know about Ryan Gosling. He’s a good actor and all, but I think if they ever made this into a movie they should use the original voice actor, Aaron Staton, since they modeled the character to look like him.

Leave a Reply

