I Never Finished…WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2010…Because

WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2010

After not finding the WWE game that I was looking for in WWE Legends of WrestleMania, I figured I would go to an old franchise that I used to buy every year it was released because on the PS2 it was one of my favorite games. The WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw games were a day one rental for me and usually turned into me eventually buying the game, but this one, my first one that I played on my PS3, just wasn’t like that. Keep reading to find out why.

It seemed like when franchises moved from the PS2 to the PS3, that just about everything changed. This was one of those games. This new WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw game followed a completely different pattern than the games that I had on the PS2. The Road to WrestleMania mode was now enabled and it meant that I had to play characters that I didn’t like or even want to use as they journeyed to WrestleMania. The truth is, at the time, I wasn’t able to accept that a game that I once loved had changed. Was it for the better, probably since I still have at least a couple of these to go on my I Never Finished list, but at the time I really wasn’t ready to accept the change.

As you can see from the picture above I only got 2 of the very easy 26 trophies for this whole game. I completed the “HBK” Road to WrestleMania story because he was and always will be one of my favorite WWE stars and I of course created my own characters. Who doesn’t do that? I always made my characters awesome and just about unstoppable. Good times. Doing only these two things meant that I really didn’t get into the game enough, which has been the case with most of these games, and I didn’t give the game the chance it deserved.

Probability of this game getting played again…5 out of 5.

Now I usually don’t give this rating for a game that I don’t even own, but I found it really cheap, the trophies have to do with single player only (since I’m sure the servers are closed), and I want to be able to give this game a second chance. There’s a really good chance that you’ll be seeing this game pop up on one of my Weekly Trophy blogs sometime in the near future and, not to give anything away, but there might be a special category in my upcoming gaming goals for the new year in 2017.

Now it’s your turn. Have you played this game and felt the same way I did? Maybe you loved the game and have the pretty common platinum trophy for this game. Or maybe it’s one of your unfinished games as well. Either way, let me know in the comments section below. Now for next week, something that I’m really really close to finishing with the overall trophies being at a whopping 71%. It’s God of War. I loved this game on the PS2, and I made sure to pick it up when it was redone for the 3. So why in the hell did I never finish it? Come back next week to find out.

TwitterYouTube

10 Comments

  1. My favorite wrestling game is Here Comes The Pain, and No Mercy for the N64.

    I love HBK Too btw.

    My favorite all time is Brett Hart.

    • Here Comes the Pain was a really good WWE game, I played that one all the time on my PS2. Brett Hart was an amazing wrestler. My favorite match would have to be HBK and Brett Hart in that 60 minute Iron Man match at WrestleMania after HBK won the Royal Rumble.

      • Nice choice of a match. I don’t think that would make my top 10, but it was a really good match. One of my all time favorite matches was when Brett Hart went up against Mr. Perfect back in 1991. The submission match he did with Stone Cold is another one of my favorites and every time he went up against the British Bulldog was a classic imo.

        My favorite Shawn Michaels match is the three stages of hell match he did with Triple H. That match was brutal. They beat the living crap out of each other for almost 50 minutes.

      • That match with Shawn Michael and Triple H was a pretty damn good match too. I liked them better when they were in DX together though. Especially when they first started, it was just something new and fun.

      • I think of hundreds of classic matches that I’ve watched over the years. Sadly that isn’t the case with the newer wrestlers in my opinion. I stopped watching WWE a while ago, but I check back from time to time to see if anything got better. I always leave disappointed…

      • I completely stopped watching wrestling about 5 or 6 years ago. Everything just got way too boring for me and it wasn’t the same as I remembered it. I don’t even bother checking to see what’s been going on but it seems like I’m not missing much.

  2. Funny thing is, we (me and my bros) stopped buying any WWE game after 2008….so ever since, we’ve been replaying the hell out of it. Naturally one would get bored so we stopped 2 or 3 years ago xD Figured it was time to move on!

Leave a Reply

