Virginia Review (PS4)

Virginia

I recently picked this game up because I was intrigued by the concept. In a world where Voice Acting is so important to a game that some voice actors feel that they have to strike in order to get what they want, this game was lacking the one thing that these actors are fighting for. A voice. This game has absolutely no dialogue and I figured now is the perfect time to see what a modern game would be like without all of the sometimes over hyped voice acting. Keep reading to see what I thought about the game as a whole.

Taking place in a fictional 1992 Virginia town, you’ll play as FBI agent Anne Tarver. Anne is a recently graduated special agent assigned to work a missing persons case with a long time agent Maria Halperin. There’s a catch though, the FBI is investigating Halperin and it’s up to you to find out what you can about her while also gaining her trust and trying to solve the case of this missing boy. There are twists and turns everywhere and even some super natural stuff going on as well. What will Anne discover about Halperin and will they both be able to work together and learn to trust each other enough to find this missing boy? You’ll have to play to find out.

At first I was a little unsure of the no dialogue at all thing. There was little to no text to read, nothing prompting you on what to do and a bunch of other missing video game norms. This actually turned out to be a good thing as you learned to pay attention a little more and listen for the cues that are subtly given to you in the music of this game. While the main story of the game is interesting, it’s obvious you’re not really tasked with find this missing boy and that you’re tasked with finding out some dirt on your partner, the game takes a weird turn blurring the lines of what’s really happening and what’s not. The first time I finished this game I was thoroughly confused about what had actually happened and by the end of the second time I played I was even more confused. What was real and what wasn’t? Was any of it real? I absolutely have no idea. I’m not even sure if the actual point of this game was to blur the concepts of reality or what, but I’m still confused.

I’m used to playing first person type games, but for some reason this game actually gave me a little bit of motion sickness. This was a first for me and it was far from enjoyable making the game just a little bit less enjoyable as well. You’re not really enjoying the game if you’re experience motion sickness. Other than that I found the game really easy to follow without the dialogue and without someone constantly telling you what to do. It’s a simple move around and press X type of game that requires no skill at all to play. Another plus is that it was bug and glitch free.

The graphics for this game were simple yet detailed enough to portray what was going on around you and how people were reacting to you. I enjoyed that the graphics weren’t those big budget types, but you can still tell that a lot of work went into not only making the graphics but making the graphics work for the story that was told.

There were a total of 18 trophies for this little game, including a platinum. Each of them were fairly simple to get although I would recommend using a walkthrough to find the collectibles. I would say that for this game, since you have to play from start to finish twice, use your first playthrough to just play the game. One your second turn, if you need a walkthrough by all means go ahead and use one, but at least experience the game to the fullest first without using one.

This story is meant for one person meaning there is no multiplayer.

Overall I give this game a 3.5 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ This game proves that not every game needs voice acting or even dialogue for that matter.
+ Simple graphics that work in telling the story that was told.
+ Bug and glitch free which is how I like my games.

What’s Not So Great:
Although the story is interesting, it’s also a little on the confusing side. After two playthroughs I still couldn’t tell what was going on.
You might get some motion sickness while playing this game and that’s never fun.

Even at the end of this review, I’m still not sure what to think of this game and I had a few weeks to process. I did enjoy my time playing, but I’m not sure what the point of the story as a whole was supposed to be? I’m still a little confused and I feel like this ruined the game a little for me because it wasn’t one of those games that was the confusing type where it made you think. Rather it was one of those games that was confusing because it feels like you weren’t given enough information. I would say that if you’re looking for something out of the ordinary to play then this is probably a good choice, but beware that by the end of the game you might not know what the hell is going on and be as confused as I still am.

TwitterYouTube

2 Comments

  1. I wanted to pick this game up but there were some pretty harsh critisms of it. Glad that you enjoyed it somewhat tho! I’ll try it next time.

    • The blur between what was really happening in the game and what wasn’t was just a little confusing for me and still mind boggling if I have to think about it. It wouldn’t be a bad think to pick it up and give it a try yourself, but I would wait for a sale.

Leave a Reply

