My Name is Mayo Review (PS Vita)

My Name is Mayo

As you can tell from my PS4 review, which you can read here, I didn’t exactly hate this game. I did enjoy it and I figured I might as well play on the PS Vita because it was a cross-buy. When the game is good I don’t mind playing again on another system. It doesn’t matter to me if it has an easy platinum trophy or not because look at Sound Shapes. It was a cross-buy for all three systems when I bought it and I only played it on the PS4 because I hated that game and refused to play it on another system for an easy platinum. Keep reading to see if I enjoyed this game the second time around.

As with the PS4 version, it’s the same game with the same story. Yes, this has a story! It’s not just about tapping a Mayo jar. The story is hidden and there are a few of them within the game. Each of them are interesting and have their own point. There’s also this hidden meaning to the game that you’ll get after finishing it. Sure the second time around it was a little cheesy, but it still gets the point across.

Unfortunately the second time around was not as fun as the first. After about 2 minutes I became bored with the game and not that interested in the story that the game was telling. At this point I just wanted it to be over so that I could stop tapping the Mayo jar. I think that with some games, it’s good to experience them once and that’s about it. It’s like that with movies sometimes and I like to call those one and done. For me, this was a one and done game and I should have just played on the PS4 and left it at that.

The controls are surprisingly the same as they were for the PS4. Move the little pointer over the Mayo jar and just jam X over and over again. Sure you have to do some other stuff to unlock the story, but this is basically the whole game. I thought at least this version could redeem itself by at least using the front or back touch screen, but it didn’t. This surprised me since it’s a pretty important feature of the PS Vita and it wasn’t even utilized at all in this game. What the hell? Other than that there were no bugs or glitches.

As much as I disliked the graphics on the PS4 I have to say that didn’t really move onto the PS Vita that well. To me they just seemed a little disproportionate and awkward. Some of the background features didn’t come across all too clearly and in one of the stories, some of the background fixtures didn’t really move like they did on the PS4.

Just as with the PS4 version, there are 51 trophies for this game and they can all be done in less than an hour. Playing this on the PS Vita got me my fastest platinum trophy ever which was a grand total of 49 minutes and 9 seconds. So, it’s a super easy platinum trophy if that’s what you’re looking for, but seriously I urge you not to play games for the trophies because you’re going to end up hating gaming as it becomes like a chore. You should play games because you genuinely like them.

No multiplayer for this game and I really don’t see how because, I just can’t picture it.

Overall I give this game a 2.5 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ A bunch of little stories that all lead up to one big meaning and message at the end of the game.

What’s Not So Great:
On the PS Vita, this game doesn’t even utilize the touch controls. Especially since using the touch controls would have been so much better.
Moving from the PS4 to the PS Vita, the graphics don’t really cross over all that well

This game wasn’t all that great the second time around, even though it was the same exact game. I didn’t like that the graphics didn’t mirror the ones on the PS4, they just seemed to get worse which I didn’t think was even possible, and that the touch controls weren’t even used. This made no sense to me and this should have just been a one and done game for me. I really regretted playing this game a second time since it made it kind of cheapen my first experience. I would say that while this is a cool little game to play that if you’re going to play it you should probably only play it once and play it on the PS4.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

