Batman – Episode 4 – Guardian of Gotham Review (PS4)

Batman

I have to say that with this game, the release date schedule has been really tight. I’m surprised since this is a Telltale game, but this is a good thing because I seriously thought it would be this time next year when this game would be finished. It seems like instead of having a bunch of games out at one time they’ve decided to take them one at a time. This is a good thing especially if they can’t handle the release schedule for more than one game. Anyway, keep reading to see what I thought of the latest Batman episode.

After the events of last episode, Bruce finds himself locked away in Arkham. Not a good feeling huh Bruce? After meeting “John Doe”, he’s able to get out of Arkham because it’s filled with crazies and now has to fight with the fact that Harvey is really pissed about the whole thing with Selina and someone is hacking into his gear. Bruce / Batman has a lot to deal with this episode and will have to make a lot of hard decisions while having some decisions that were made in previous games maybe come back and bite him in the ass. How will Bruce / Batman come out of all of this? You’ll have to find out in the last episode.

Compared to the other episodes, I thought this one was just ok. I didn’t really find anything all that special about it other than the fact that you’re introduced to the Joker. Other than that it just really felt like a filler episode and unfortunately felt a little rushed and out of place. Everything happens really quickly in this episode and nothing is really all that detailed out. I don’t know why but it feels like a lot of Telltale games have this problem when it comes to the fourth episode. It’s weird, but I think that if they cut down the episodes to 3 and made each one a little longer they would play out differently and work better as a whole. But what do I know, I just play these games I don’t make them.

I was really disappointed with the playability of this game. Everything up until this episode had been great. There was no lag, no stalling, no problems to even speak of. This episode did a complete 180 and it was like it was back to the old Telltale style of various different bugs and glitches. Let’s start with the lag. There was so much lag for this episode that at one point it just froze for a few minutes before it was able to catch up with itself. Then there was so much lag that the game just crashed and I had to replay a scene all over again. WTF? Not to mention how the loading times seemed to double this episode. Seriously disappointed as I thought all of this was fixed. Guess not.

As with the rest of the episodes for this game, the graphics were right on par with the comic book / graphic novel style that was really enjoyable. This is an area where Telltale really excels in when it comes to their games that are based off comic books and graphic novels. As long as they stick to the graphic style that best matches the game I really have no problems with it.

Finish this episode and you’ll get all 6 trophies that come with this episode. That means you’ll be 6 trophies closer to getting the platinum for this game. You don’t have to do anything special but just play the episode. I don’t mind when the game does this because it shows you that the story is more important that trying to get the trophies for each episode. I enjoy being able to play without thinking that if I didn’t like the episode that I’ll have to go back in order to get one or two trophies that I missed.

I am nothing if not a procrastinator because I still have not made my Telltale account and used the crowd play feature. If you have used this feature though, feel free to tell me what you think of it in the comments section.

Overall I give this episode a 2.5 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ The introduction of the Joker. I don’t think anything major is going to be done with him this season, but you can’t have a Batman game without him.
+ Same great graphics that really make the game and make it feel like an extension of the comic book.

What’s Not So Great:
The story was lacking this time around and felt like a filler episode with a lot of things going on but none of them really all that important.
The return of all those infamous bugs and glitches that Telltale is known for. Just when I thought this wasn’t going to happen anymore, I completely lose faith in this company again.

Compared to the other episodes of Batman I was completely disappointed by this one. This episode was just a filler episode that was plagued with bugs and glitches that made it even more unenjoyable to play. I just let out a huge sigh after playing this episode. Part of it was a sigh of relief that the episode was over and the other part was just annoyance that this company has done a complete 180 when it comes to the engine the game is running on. Why all the problems this time around? It really baffles me. Anyway, while I’ve been saying that this game is good enough to get now and play and wait for each episode I would say to hold off and see how the last episode plays out now. Even though I was disappointed I am interested to see what the last episode has planned to the end of what I think is going to be Season 1.

Spoilers! Below are the choices that I made for the fourth episode.

Batman

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

