Letter Quest Remastered Review (PS Vita)

Letter Quest Remastered

As many of you probably already know, I got this game because it was free thanks to PS+. Since I rarely get to use my Vita, I decided that instead of playing this on the PS4 that I would in fact play it on my PS Vita so that it stopped sitting around and collecting dust. Keep reading to see what I thought about this game.

This game is all about spelling and the power that it wields. Playing as either Grimm or Rose (two adorable little grim reapers), you’ll face off against 40 stages of different monsters all ranging in different difficulties and use the power of spelling in order to defeat them. Throughout the game you’ll be able to upgrade your character, upgrade your weapons, use different kinds of tiles that have different kinds of effects, open random treasure chests, and buy things from a creepy merchant hanging out in some of the levels. It’s like playing a more fun version of scrabble.

I became really addicted to this game, mostly because I like spelling (yes I know I’m very nerdy) and this game made it fun to do so. I’m always for games that are not only fun but educational in the process. Even though this is a spelling game it wasn’t tedious to play or not fun because of the little animations that made. Each word you spelt had a different point value and depending on the word you spelt you would deal damage to the monster you were facing. There were also little challenges here and there that made the game worth it and challenging. Another bonus was that each level was different and sometimes required a different strategy to play. Overall it was a really fun game and I had a good time playing it.

The playability is simple. Click on the letters you want to use in order to spell a word and spell it. Bonus because it also showed the definition of the word you were spelling in the corner. I liked that this game, unlike some other games (My Name is Mayo), actually utilized the PS Vita touch screen. The only problem that I had was that I suffer from fat fingers and would constantly hit the wrong letter because everything was squished together. Instead of hitting only an A I would also hit the Q that was siting next to it. This got a little tricky to deal with at times especially during the time trials when you were trying to finish the level within the given time.

OH NO! This game gets a big OH NO because there was a time when I started the game and it said all of my data was corrupt. I only had a few more levels to go and I wanted to toss the PS Vita out the window. I did the reasonable thing and shut the game off and restarted without a problem, but the thought of losing my data after putting so many hours into the game made me rush to finish this game instead of taking my time with it.

The graphics for this game are super cute and you can tell a lot of work went into the overall details of this game and each and every animation. The only problem I had was that everything was super super small. Each detail on the monsters was almost microscopic and it was hard to read them along with the definitions of the words you were spelling throughout the game. Sometimes monsters could only be taken down by spelling a word with 4 or more letters and in order to see that little prompt I had to hold the PS Vita an inch away from my face. Not all that great.

Finish this game, which there is no reason why you shouldn’t be able to, and you’ll add another 12 trophies to your trophy card. All of the trophies revolve around just playing the game and doing everything this game has to offer so there’s nothing extremely hard that you have to do in order to get the 100% on this one.

No multiplayer for this game and you really don’t even need it.

Overall I give this game a 4 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ Cute little spelling game that makes spelling fun and creative.
+ Nice animations and cool graphics that really bring out the game.

What’s Not So Great:
Small graphics that are hard to read especially on the already small PS Vita screen.
Glitch that may or may not make you lose your data. I kind of think it’s a toss up and I just got lucky.

This game is an overall cute little spelling game that makes spelling fun in a non-scrabble like way. It deals with little grim reapers that deal damage to monsters and has a bunch of things to do so that you really won’t even get bored. If you got it for free thanks to PS+, I would say that you should download it and play it now because you won’t regret it. If you didn’t get it for free, then I would say that $9.99 is a little pricy for this game even though there’s a ton of stuff to do and maybe to wait until it goes on sale.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

