Throwback Thursday Review – DLC Remix – Borderlands 2 – Captain Scarlett and her Pirate’s Booty

As you can probably tell by now, I’m a huge Borderlands fan. I have various different Borderlands tattoo’s, met two of the very talented voice actress’s, and have officially decided that this is one of my favorite games. This wasn’t always the case and I was kinda pushed into playing this game by someone that I once knew. This also meant that I had to pay the DLC, by this time though I was more than excited to spend some extra time in Borderlands so I went along with it and played it on both the PS3 and the PS4. Here’s what I thought about the first DLC release for Borderlands 2 – Captain Scarlett and her Pirate’s Booty.

For this DLC you’ll venture to the bone dry town of Oasis. Here you’ll run into a bunch of new and memorable characters, I’m talking about you Shade, and you’ll be on hunt of a treasure. In order to hunt down this treasure you’ll need the help of Captain Scarlett, who totally isn’t planning on stabbing you in the back. Your vault hunter and Captain Scarlett will hunt down the Lost Treasure of the Sands, you’ll do most of the work as Captain Scarlett will stand around and look pretty. Will you find this treasure? Will Captain Scarlett stab you in the back? You’ll find out all that and more in this first DLC for Borderlands 2.

Eh… Being the huge fan of Dragon Age that I am, I couldn’t help but notice that Captain Scarlett seemed like she was kinda a rip off of one of my favorite Dragon Age characters, Isabela. Captain Scarlett has that same air about her that Isabela does and it was hard not to pick up on this. I’m still torn to this day on how I feel about this. Let me know what you think in the comments section below. Maybe I’m wrong, and Captain Scarlett is nothing like Isabela. Or maybe I’m right. Either way I wouldn’t mind hearing what you think on the whole situation.

I thought this first DLC was absolutely brilliant. I loved that it added a bunch of new and memorable characters to the Borderlands universe and that it added a bunch of extra playtime and new places to explore. The story for this DLC was just top notch and it was well thought-out and planned. This wasn’t a DLC that was just thrown together at the last minute for the sake of making money. It actually added to the game and made it so much more enjoyable.

The playability for this game is like the rest of the game and fits smoothly into the whole scheme of things. You’ll shoot and loot your way through a bunch of new area’s to unlock and a bunch of new raid bosses that will have you going back for more each time. The DLC plays out nicely and it can be either played after the main campaign or while you play the main campaign. I personally like to leave the DLC for this game until the end, but that’s just me. This DLC was both bug and glitch free on both versions that I played which made me a happy camper.

The graphics for this DLC sync up with the rest of this game making the game as a whole coherent. With Borderlands, one of the things that I enjoy is that the graphics are different than other games out there. True, they’re similar to the Telltale games, but this is on a much bigger level for a much bigger game. It totally works for them and the graphics are one of the things I like the most about Borderlands and this DLC.

No matter which platform you play on, the PS3 or the PS4, this DLC will add another three trophies to your overall Borderlands 2 trophy list. The trophies are super simple and require you to play every mission, fill out every map completely, and just finish the DLC. Not that hard at all and is you’re really into it you’ll be doing all of these things anyway.

There is some good old-fashioned co-op for this DLC and the game as a whole. Grab a buddy or three and venture into Oasis in order to get some better loot and for more difficult enemies. I’ve done this DLC both ways. The first time I played on the PS3, I played with a friend. We completed the whole DLC together and it was a really great experience as Borderlands was made to be played with other people. The second time I played this DLC was on the PS4 and I did a solo run. While it was just as fun, I found the experience to play with someone else a little more fun. The choice is yours though and this DLC can totally be done alone, even the raid bosses.

Hmm…which console to play on: Playing this on both the PS3 and the PS4, I would have to say that if you’re looking to play this DLC that either console that you choose is a winner. It fits perfectly on the PS3 and on the PS4. Yes the PS4 has better graphics, but I still go back from time to time and play on my PS3 as well. The only real edge that the PS4 version has on the PS3 is the graphics. Everything else is basically the same.

Overall I give this DLC a 5 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ Great story and a great first addition to the Borderlands 2 game as a whole.
+ New memorable characters that might or might not show up in the future.
+ New places to visit and loot and new enemies to shoot.
+ Graphics that enhance the game and fit perfectly into the Borderlands universe making everything cohesive.

What’s Not So Great:
Umm…nothing, this DLC is awesome.

With some of the lackluster DLC that came out of the first Borderlands, I wasn’t really sure what to expect with Borderlands 2. I’m glad to say that Captain Scarlett and her Pirate’s Booty came out as a winner of a DLC for Borderlands 2 and was a great first DLC for this game to release. If you’re playing on the PS4 then you already have this DLC and you should just go and play it, but if you’re playing on the PS3 I would say that it’s still worth a buy and that you should totally get it because if you’re a Borderlands fan you won’t regret it.

We’ll continue with Borderlands 2 next week as there are more than a couple of DLC to get through. Playing as much Borderlands 2 as I did, and still do, it’s no surprise that I finished this DLC on both the PS3 and the PS4. I’ll let you know what I thought about Mr. Torgue’s Campaign of Carnage next week.

TwitterYouTube

7 Comments

  1. It’s been a long time since I bothered to play Borderlands 2. I put a bunch of hours in it on the PC and I have fond memories of this DLC. You’re spot on about Captain Scarlett and Isabela. I don’t mind it though since I love Isabela.

    • Thank you! Finally someone that plays Dragon Age and Borderlands. Every time I bring it up when I play with someone they usually haven’t played Dragon Age and have no idea what I’m talking about. Glad it wasn’t just me who thought that. Isabela is hands down one of the best characters in the Dragon Age series. She was sorely missed in Dragon Age: Inquisition. I don’t care if she was in the multiplayer, I wanted her in the actual game.

      • Bioware could have at least given us a cameo of Isabela. It would have been nice to see some of the previous characters too. Zevran, Isabela, Fenris, Shale, etc.

      • A cameo would have been nice instead of the explanation that was given by my Lady Hawke for why Isabela couldn’t be there which just seemed like a convenient way to send her off. I would have loved a cameo from Shale, but I was fine with them leaving out Fenris and Zevran. I was also glad that Merill didn’t make another appearance.

      • Shale is my all time favorite Dragon Age character :). Zevran is one of them too. They could have at least given us a small cameo like part 2 did.

      • Shale is an awesome character, I’m really hoping that they use her in future games. I know that she was in one of the Dragon Age novels that I read, but I would much rather see her in the actual game. Another small cameo for Zevran would have been nice instead of the Alistair cameo’s. I could seriously do without seeing him in one of my games again.

      • I never did get why so many people love Alistair. I could go without seeing him again too.

Leave a Reply

