Gaming Goals for the New Year – December 2016 – FINAL

So this year was just crazy as a lot of you might already know if you read this blog at all. I set these huge goals thinking it was going to be the same year that it was last year and was completely blown away when I was interrupted from my “normal” gaming schedule time after time after time. I know my goals were a little ambitious to begin with, but I do like a challenge. Anyway, here’s my final total on my goals for the year.

2016 Gaming Goals

Have a total of 80 platinum trophies. – FAILED
– Starting # of Platinum Trophies: 65
– Ending # of Platinum Trophies: 68
While I didn’t hit 80 platinum trophies this year, I did have a good year of platinum trophies. I started the year with only 48 platinum trophies and ended with 68 which was a gain of 20 platinum trophies. Not too bad if you ask me. Yes, I didn’t hit my 80 but there was still a gain of a whopping 20 platinum trophies which was no easy feat. I’m pretty happy about this even though this overall goal had to be marked as a fail.

Have a total of 8,500 trophies. – FAILED
– Starting # of Trophies: 6,772
– Ending # of Trophies: 6,879
This month was a pretty hard one to game in, which honestly was to be expected. There are holidays and holiday parties, which were work related, and then that last tattoo session that I had to get in, so a lot of things prevented me from gaming and it was kind of impossible for me to reach this goal by the end of month anyway. I did make some decent progress on this though since I started the year with 5,616 trophies and was able to get well over 1,000 trophies throughout the year. Still another goal that I didn’t meet but was happy with the end result.

Have 120 games completed at 100%. – FAILED
– Starting # of Games 100% Complete: 104
– Ending # of Games 100% Complete: 107
I really really thought I would hit the 120 mark this year. I seriously did, but it just didn’t happen. I have to say out of all of my goals this is the one that I’m upset about the most. Yes I did make progress as I started the year with only 81 games at 100%, I really thought the 120 would be nothing. I did make it over the 100 mark, but not hitting that 120 stings.

Have an overall completion rating of 75%. – FAILED
– Starting Completion Rate: 52.96%
– Ending Completion Rate: 52.79%
I knew this number was a far stretch to begin with when I first put it out there. I knew there was no possible way that I would even reach this goal, this year, next year, or maybe even the year after, but I still wanted to give it a try. I have to say that even though I failed this one I’m pretty happy with myself as I got my overall completion up from 50.62% to well over 52% even though I had that drop from last month. I was so close to 53%, but then I had to start a bunch of games at the end of the year. This is win for me and I’m happy about it. One day I’ll get to 75%, one day.

Start and get the platinum trophy or 100% completion on 30 backlogged games. – FAILED
– Starting Number of Backlogged Games Completed (Out of the 30 That Were Listed): 2
– Ending Number of Backlogged Games Completed (Out of the 30 That Were Listed): 2
After thinking about this goal over and over again, I think the main thing that kept me from getting this done was that I made an actual list of games that needed to be completed. The child inside of me looked at this list and was like “I’m not playing these games” and I think that’s where the problem was to begin with. I told myself what was OK to play and this was not cool and part of the problem on why I didn’t meet this goal. It’s better if I can just pick and choose the games I want to play and not have to stick to an actual list.

Get the platinum trophy or 100% completion on 20 already started backlogged games. – FAILED
– Starting Number of Backlogged Games Completed (Out of the 20 That Were Listed): 4
– Ending Number of Backlogged Games Completed (Out of the 20 That Were Listed): 4
All I can say about this goal is that there are 4 less games sitting on my trophy card that aren’t completed. Once again this was a list type of thing, I made a list of games that had to be played instead of going back and playing what I wanted to play and tried to stick to the list. This resulted in me getting bored and basically throwing a temper tantrum with the list and wanting to shred it in a million pieces because I didn’t’ want to play these games. Lesson of the year – LISTS ARE BAD!

Only pre-order 5 new games and save the rest for Black Friday and holiday sales. – ACCOMPLISHED!
– Starting Number of Pre-Orders: 4
– Ending Number of Pre-Orders: 4
I finally did something right this year as I stayed below a certain goal of pre-orders. My wallet thanked me this year, even though by the end of the year I still felt broke, thanks holiday sales! I’m proud of myself for only pre-ordering 4 games this year which means that I really didn’t need that many games day one and it was perfectly fine to wait for a sale. Another lesson learned – NOT ALL GAMES NEED TO BE BOUGHT DAY ONE TO ENJOY THEM!

I had a really fun time this year telling you guys about my gaming goals and letting you know my progress each and every month. I hope you guys had a fun time reading about my ups and downs and my overall gaming experiences. Also, this is the start of a new year! You know what that means right? New goals for 2017, stay tuned and I’ll let you know what they are tomorrow! I hope everyone had a happy and healthy New Year and that you continue to read and comment whenever you feel like it. Here’s hoping that you guys continue reading and that I make some more impossible goals for this upcoming year!

TwitterYouTube

2 Comments

  1. Excellent goals. I know what you mean about buying games at launch. I only bought 3 this year. It’s such a huge money saver, especially with the amount of sales going on these days. I only went for the ones I really wanted. Uncharted 4 with the console, Pokémon Moon and The Last Guardian. All well worth it

    • Before last year I was totally one of those people that had to have a bunch of games day one. This year showed me that you don’t have to have every single game day one and that some can wait. It was a good goal to accomplish and a really good lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

