Throwback Thursday Review – DLC Remix – Borderlands 2 – Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep

While I loved the first two DLC for Borderlands 2, how could you not, I was not impressed with the Sir Hammerlock DLC. They took one of my favorite Borderlands 2 characters and gave him a crap DLC. Now Tiny Tina is also one of my favorite Borderlands 2 characters. How could she not be. I mean, if you don’t like Tiny Tina, then…I just don’t even know what to say. Getting beyond that though I thought that giving her a DLC could go either way after the last DLC so keep reading to see what I actually thought of the DLC.

Taking place after the events of Borderlands 2 and leading into the opening events of Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel which will then hopefully lead into the events of Borderlands 3, this DLC has Tiny Tina along with the original Vault Hunters, minus one, playing a game of Bunkers and Badasses. Tiny Tina serves as your narrator and overall world creator for this DLC as she takes you through a story. Not just any story though, it’s actually the story of Borderlands 2. But what’s different about it is that it’s coming from how a 13 year old sees it. How things went down in Borderlands 2 isn’t exactly how she see’s it and she’ll give you her perspective in this DLC that is both over the top and just a little sad at the same time.

I’m not crying! In Borderlands 2 you learn that Tiny Tina’s parents were murdered by none other than Handsome Jack. While you see her coping with that just fine, it’s because she has Roland who basically watches out for her and is her best friend. Taking place after the death of Roland, this DLC is all about Tiny Tina coming to terms with the death of her best friend. From the prospective of a 13 year old it’s a hard thing and this DLC shows that even though she’s this little psychopath who is hysterical she’s still a 13 year old girl who misses her best friend and still thinks he’s coming back. In a way it’s heart breaking and every time I play I promise myself that I won’t cry at the end, but I just can’t help it.

I loved this DLC. Just loved it. I know I loved the first two DLC, we can just forget about the third, but this DLC is the one that makes the game. I can play this DLC, even though it’s incredibly sad, over and over again. This takes the already over the top Borderlands and makes it even more over the top while still giving it an actual point. The story for the DLC alone is hands down the best out of all the DLC released for this game and just everything else about it cannot be topped. I seriously have no idea how the other Borderlands are going to compete because if I could only choose to play one DLC ever again it would be this one.

The playability is just like the other three DLC for this game and the game itself. While I did have some stability issues and a few minor glitches on the PS3, the PS4 version ran just fine for me. Overall the experiences were similar except for one little part that I’ll get to later. There are a bunch of new areas to explore with this DLC and a bunch of new enemies to shoot and areas to loot. This formula works for Borderlands and I wouldn’t change a thing about it. I’m just happy that the story telling aspect of the game has changed for the better.

Because this takes place in a fictional place, the environment is over the top and completely different which is just fine because that’s the premise of the whole DLC. Because the DLC is laid out like that, the overall graphics just work for this DLC and actually enhance it more. When it comes to the graphics for the DLC, this is a total winner.

Unlike the other DLC for this game, there are 10 trophies for this DLC. Some of them are playing the game and some are luck based. No matter how you look at it though, they’re all pretty simple and they just require you to farm a little and play like you normally would. I wouldn’t say that it makes you go out of your way more than you would already have to get a trophy.

Trophy Memories… By the time I played this on the PS3, I was coming very close to my 2,000 trophy. I know it seems a long time ago since I’m close to 7,000 now, but back to my story. I usually don’t plan my “milestone trophies” they come as they come and sometimes I get some really crappy ones. My 6,000 milestone trophy was called Mushroom, but this time I was extremely happy when trophy number 2,000 popped because it was the first trophy for this DLC which was I Totes Planned that Boss and I totally love seeing that on my trophy log. It’s very much a Tiny Tina thing to say and it’s just awesome.

Like the rest of this game, this DLC is meant to be played co-op style. The enemies are harder and the loot is better. By the time this came out on the PS3 I felt like I was playing with someone who had introduced me to this game out of obligation. Our friendship had gone downhill and we played most of the DLC in silence, both of us trying to find a reason to be like “Oh I have to go, we’ll play later” before signing out and playing alone. While that did put a damper on the whole co-op thing, there were times when there was that heard over the microphone sigh when someone died during a round of Murderlin’s Temple, it made me enjoy the co-op thing a lot less which was why I started playing this game by myself in the first place. Long story, yes longer than this, cut completely short I played this DLC with new people later on and have to say that you really need to play not only this DLC but the game as a whole with someone else who enjoys it as much as you do.

Hmm…which console to play on: Both! This is the one Borderlands 2 DLC that cannot be missed. Play it on both because I promise you that this will not be the one time that you play this DLC. And all those other times you play, you won’t regret it.

Overall I give this DLC a 5 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ Tiny Tina! This is her journey and she makes the whole DLC.
+ The story for this DLC is over the top in that Borderlands 2 fashion that cannot be missed.
+ The 5 stages of grief all laid out in a nice little DLC for you that will have you crying your eyes out by the end.
+ Great graphics that are also over the top, but not really when you think about it coming from Tiny Tina’s perspective.

What’s Not So Great:
Some stability issues on the PS3.

If you’re going to play only one DLC for Borderlands 2, let it be this one. It’s just the best DLC that this game has to offer and cannot be missed. In a world where DLC is now a common thing for every game and you have to figure out what’s worth it and what’s not, this one is without a doubt worth it. You won’t regret playing this and you’ll probably play it more than once.

While the Borderlands 2 DLC has sadly come to an end, I got one more Borderlands DLC for you in this series which is from Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel. I only completed one of the DLC for this game which was The Holodome OnSlaught on the PS4 and I’ll let you know what I thought about it next week.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

