Hitman Go: Definitive Edition Review (PS4)

Hitman Go Definitive Edition

While I wouldn’t say that I’m the biggest Hitman fan out there, I have played the original games on the PS2 more than a few times even though I did skip the PS3 games as well as the new PS4 one. There was something about this game though, besides the fact that it was on sale, that I found interesting enough to want to give it a try. Keep reading to see if the game impressed me or just felt like another flop in a series of games that have been feeling that way lately.

If there was a story for this game then it completely went over my head. Like way over it because I just didn’t see it. There were a total of seven different chapters with seven different marks as you play as Agent 47. The thing is though, there’s no story to set up each chapter. When you start, you’re presented with a board, kind of like a chess game in a way, and there are a bunch of different ways to get to the exit. There are obstacles in your way that you can cleverly avoid like the actual Hitman games or you can go in there and just kill everyone, just like the actual Hitman games. The way you play is up to you in this more tactical approach to the Hitman franchise.

This game was a total miss for me. I’m really a story kind of girl and I need something that keeps me going on from objective to objective, not just you’ll go through 15 mini levels so that you can kill someone at the end. I also need some kind of structure which this game did not have. Don’t get me wrong it’s not like I don’t like games where you have to explore, because I do, I just need there to be some kind of structure. Why am I doing what I’m doing. I need a reason and this game didn’t give me one except for the reason that you had to do this in order to complete the chapter.

That being said, I really did enjoy the playability of this game as it was something new and exciting. Moving Agent 47 around a chess board like setting was an interesting one and really kept you on your toes as you tried to complete the mini objectives of making it to the end in so many moves or not killing someone. I thought it was a new and cool approach to an already developed franchise. It was also super simple to get used to and it really made you think about your next move before making it instead of just running around hoping not to get caught. Everything also functioned really well and there were no bugs or glitches that I experienced during my playthrough.

Sometimes coming from a mobile platform to something that isn’t mobile is a hard thing to do graphics wise, but with this game you wouldn’t have even been able to tell that this was moved from a mobile game if you didn’t already know. The graphics were perfect for this type of game and really worked towards the game as an advantage. Going with the whole chess board feel, each piece that was on the board felt like it was a chess piece and each piece had it’s own purpose. Some pieces didn’t move, some moved only a certain way, and everything had a purpose. Graphically this worked and I was surprised that I enjoyed the graphics as much as I did.

Of course this being on the PS4, there are trophies for this game. There are a total of 17 extremely easy trophies for you to get including a platinum trophy. Having a platinum trophy for a Hitman game is something that I never thought I would have, but surprise surprise this was my first. While there are some random trophies for doing random things you’ll also get trophies for completing all of the objectives in each chapter and not using the hints option throughout the game. Each of these are easy and if you get stuck there are a ton of walkthroughs for you to use.

This game has no need for multiplayer and it doesn’t have it so it’s basically a win.

Overall I give this game a 3 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ A new way to play an old franchise.
+ A nicely done port from the mobile platform to a console.
+ Cool graphics that match the game.

What’s Not So Great:
Lack of an actual story within each chapter. There’s a point but nothing special to go with it.
No replay value.

While this wasn’t the worst game that I’ve played in recent weeks, it wasn’t the best either. I would say that it was a decent game for the price that I paid for it on sale. Now if you’re going to purchase this game at its full retail price of $7.99 that’s a different story. I really don’t feel that it was worth this much money, but if you’re a fan of the franchise you’ll want to check this one out as some of the chapters are familiar and contain the same settings as some of the games, plus it’s still a Hitman game. I’m going to say that with this game it’s a toss up. If you’re a Hitman fan then get it because it’s new and if you’re not a Hitman fan but want to try something new, wait until a sale.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

