LEGO Jurassic World Review (PS4)

LEGO Jurassic World

It’s been a while since I played my last LEGO game, which just happened to be LEGO STAR WARS: The Force Awakens, you can read my full review here. I felt like after that game I needed a LEGO break. There was just so much to do and having to replay each and every level kind of takes a lot out of you as you go around searching for the mini kits. As always though, I had that itch again to play a LEGO game so I grabbed this one because of my love for the movies. Keep reading to see if I need another LEGO break after playing this one.

LEGO Jurassic World tackles not only one of the Jurassic Park movies, but all four of them in one huge game. Each movie has its own world and a corresponding 5 levels to go with them if you don’t count the bonus levels. Each world associated with a movie gets the same plot treatment that the movie did but in a LEGO way. So while all the main points from the movies are highlighted there is some of the LEGO humor and other things thrown in there to make sure you know that this is a LEGO game.

Is it just me or… Is it just me or was the voice acting for this game really off? Some points were louder than others and they just felt out of place and weird. I’m not sure if I’m correct or not but it felt like they had taken actual movie clips and tried to put it into the game where some of the movie scenes were copied. I’m not sure if this is the case but the voice acting was just really off for this game especially for the early levels that covered the first three movies.

I always enjoyed the Jurassic Park movies even if by the third one it seemed a little eh before I was blown away by the fourth one. That being said, I enjoyed the game because it highlighted on those iconic scenes from each and every movie which was just great. Of course it was done in that LEGO way which had me laughing from time to time because it was just crazy. That being said, it seems like with these newer LEGO games, they’re trying to stuff a lot of things in each game making them pretty huge. It first started with the bricks, which was fine, but then has now progressed into these side quest type things which to me has just become a little overwhelming. There’s just so much to do and a lot of it can’t be done until after the game and at that point it kind of feels like the game is done. Most of the time I really hate going back and having to do the side quests and other stuff because it already feels like I completed a game. This seems to be a common trend when it comes to the LEGO games and I’m not sure that’s a really smart move.

The one thing I have to say with the LEGO games is the consistency of the playability. Each game basically plays the same, so if you played one then you’ve basically played them all. This isn’t a bad thing though as with each new game you really don’t have to learn anything new and you can just jump right on in and play. Even though I did hear about random glitches and such with this game, I didn’t experience any of this and had a really smooth playthrough. That being said, when you had to play as a dinosaur this because a little awkward and clunky at times depending on what dinosaur you were playing. Even though it was cool to play as a LEGO dinosaur I think they missed the mark in this department and it became more like a chore.

I really enjoy the LEGO graphics because they’re LEGO, but there was something different about these. Oh yeah, there were LEGO dinosaurs! I mean come on, the graphics for LEGO games are pretty neat as they are, but add dinosaurs and it’s just pretty awesome. I really like the way that they did the dinosaurs and thought that while everything was basically the same for the LEGO games, the dinosaurs were a nicely done and fit in perfectly.

Finish this game and complete it to 100% and you’ll not only be rewarded with a new LEGO platinum trophy, but you’ll also be rewarded with another 49 trophies as well. Not bad in the trophy department. Since this game has been out for a while now, I’m going to assume that there isn’t going to be any DLC for this game ever. Not a bad thing since I’m not really enjoying all of the DLC that’s starting to come with the LEGO games.

While there is no multiplayer for this game, one of the things I enjoy about the LEGO games, there is good old fashioned couch co-op. Or a SharePlay co-op if you wanted to play with a friend within the hour time limit that you have and as long as both of your internet connections are up to standard.

Overall I give this game a 4 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ One game that covers all four movies including major plot lines along with some LEGO humor thrown in.
+ Same LEGO playability as always allowing you to just jump into the game, if you’re familiar with LEGO games and just play without having to learn anything new.
+ LEGO DINOSAURS! And really nice graphics.

What’s Not So Great:
When playing the dinosaurs the controls are a little weird and some of the dino’s are hard to maneuver making it like a chore.
There’s so much to do, it’s almost like there’s too much to do.

While I enjoyed the fact that I didn’t have to go out and buy 4 different LEGO games for them to cover all 4 of the Jurassic Park movies, I just feel like there was a lot to do. If you’re a fan of LEGO games though and a fan of the movies then you’ll enjoy this game as much as I did. Unfortunately though, the other LEGO games I have will have to be put on hold because as I was after finishing LEGO STAR WARS: The Force Awakens, I’m a little burnt out on LEGO games and it’ll probably be a while before I play my next one.

TwitterYouTube

4 Comments

  1. Hmm. Enjoyable enough and I was very excited to hear that this game would be made and that it’d include all 4 films but it just didn’t click for me. Nice graphics and sound effects – well dinosaur roars – but it wasn’t ‘violent’ enough. Games like Star Wars handled deaths pretty well. They were comical and sad at the same time but did anybody ever die in his game? Seeing the lawyer and others get spat out by the dinos at the end was far too tame. Oh and hearing the theme music over and over again. Definitely in the bottom end of the LEGO games. Better than Hobbit and Pirates, but not Star Wars Complete Saga and 1-3 and 4-6, Lord of the Rings or Batman 2. I’m hoping for far more from Undercover, although it is the Wii U version I own. Unless I feel the need for the platinum. Tbh I could replay most of the other LEGOs for the plat trophies and have fun as they were all originally played on 360.

    • Ha, I forgot about that with this game. No one actually died! Everyone was miraculously alive by the end because it seems the dinosaur’s couldn’t digest them or whatever.

      I can understand what you mean about the music especially if you’re playing level after level of the game. The music just goes on and on. If you hear it once in a while it brings back a memory from the movie, but hearing it over and over again gets a little played out.

      I’m going to probably wait for a sale with Undercover. It looks really good, but I never pay full price for LEGO games.

      • Good idea. I’ve actually just ordered LEGO HP on PS4. It’s been years since I played them and having just reread all the books and rewatched the films, I’m keen to play the games again. Plus I miss the simple days when LEGO characters didn’t talk 😀

      • Surprisingly I’ve never played a LEGO game where the characters didn’t talk. I think that would be a nice change from characters that won’t stop talking.

Leave a Reply

