I Never Finished…God of War: Ghost of Sparta…Because

God of War: Ghost of Sparta

Another God of War game because apparently I’m good at playing these games, just not actually finishing them. This was another game in the series that I finished the story, but just never got around to finishing up the trophy list. Keep reading to see why this God of War game was added to my ever growing list of games that I never finished.

Another port over from the failed PlayStation Portable, this God of War centered around another story about Kratos. This time around this game takes place between the events of the original God of War and God of War: Betrayal, which was a simple Hack and Slash Java game. Still haunted by his past, this time not about murdering his wife and daughter, Kratos decides he’s going to go on a quest to find out about his brother, Deimos. Who knew that Kratos had a brother right? Turns out he did and he was taken away from Kratos and his mother Callisto when he was a child because of a prophecy that the Oracle had. The Oracle said that the demise of Olympus would come from not a Titan but a marked man. This lead the Gods to believe that it was Deimos. Little did they know right? As you probably already know, death follows Kratos around in this game and he unlocks a little bit more about his origin story.

All in all this was a good game. I like these types of games that give you a little more to go on main character wise. At first Kratos was kind of an open book. You didn’t know much about him except that he was tricked into murdering his wife and daughter. Being able to know his back story and events that happened in his mortal life are all pretty interesting and give him more substance character wise. Sure all in all he’s still that screaming character that’s kind of an anti-hero, but the more that’s unlocked about him the more that kind of makes sense. Anyway, I enjoyed the game enough to play it start to finish. At this point of my gaming history, I was at the point where if I at least got a decent amount of trophies, I was a happy camper.

As you can tell from the picture above, I was able to get 25 out of the 36 trophies this game had to offer. Not bad for only playing this game once right? I got all the basic trophies and some collectible trophies, but am missing out on the combo trophies, the difficulty related trophy, and then just a bunch of random trophies that I really didn’t even know existed at the time. I will point out that this was before I knew about PSNprofiles.com which shows you all of the trophies, even the hidden ones, which helps out a hell of a lot when you’re trying to go for trophies.

Probability of this game getting played again…5 out of 5.

Because I own the other game that came with this one, Chains of Olympus, I own this game as well. It was one of those duel disk things. How cool are those? I mean two games for the price of one? Can’t go wrong. Anyway, I’m pretty determined to go back and revisit not only this game but all of the God of War games when a release date for the new God of War is actually given. I think it’ll be a good thing to do in order to get back into the series.

God of War: Chains of Olympus Sleeve

Now it’s your turn. Have you also played this God of War game? What did you think about these smaller games that came out to bridge the bigger games together? Also, which platform did you play on? The original PSP version or the PS3? Let me know in the comments section below and now for next week, a game that I absolutely to this day love. It’s one of my favorite Uncharted games and the Uncharted game that got me addicted to it’s multiplayer. It’s Uncharted 2: Among Theives. I’ll let you know next week why I never finished this game.

TwitterYouTube

8 Comments

  1. Nevermind on that. I just finished reading and you clearly state that it’s a PSP game :). That explains why I never heard of it. I’ve never owned a PSP.

    • I have to say out of all the PlayStation consoles / hand-helds, the PSP never interested me at all and I never picked it up. I did pick up a Nintendo DS though instead of the PSP.

      • I usually end up owning every Nintendo handheld. I do feel like I’ve missed out on some good PS Vita games by not having one though. I’ve never looked into the PSP so I have no idea what’s on that console.

      • The Nintendo DS and an old school Game Boy were the only Nintendo handheld’s that I’ve ever had. There are some pretty good games for the PS Vita, but it doesn’t really get the attention that it deserves. There could have been more games for it and better games.

Leave a Reply

