Assassin’s Creed Review

Assassin's Creed

”Disorientating, makes little sense, and worst of all is a terrible, humorless bore,” – Jeffrey M. Anderson (Common Sense Media.) “Often confusing and far too po-faced,” – James Dyer (Empire.) “Kill(s) off a couple of hours that might have been better used,” – Bob Hoose (Plugged In.) These are just some of the reviews that pop up when you search for Assassin’s Creed, the movie. Yet, I still wanted to see this movie. The only reason why I wanted to see it though, there was a PS+ deal and I could watch it for $0.50. Keep reading to see if I agreed with these reviews or thought it was completely different.

Assassin’s Creed, is basically a fill in for not releasing a game that has been released just about every single year for the past few years. Cal Lynch (played by Michael Fassbender) is saved from Death Row from Abstergo because he has a link to the past. Using the Animus, he’ll be able to live the life of his ancestor Aguilar de Nerha in 15th century Spain. The Templars who run Abstergo are desperately looking for the Apple of Eden so that they could wipe away free will from people and it just so happens that Aguilar was the last person who had the apple. It just so happens that Cal is the only person who can do this, but only if he enters the Animus willingly. Like all of the other people at Abstergo who have the Assassin bloodline, Cal will be transformed by his experiences while in the Animus. Will he fight for the righteous Assassin’s and protect the Apple of Eden of will he play into the evilness of Abstergo and give them what they want?

What a complete and absolute bore fest this movie was. It loosely follows the game and puts in the typical Assassin’s Creed staple points like the “leap of faith” which is pretty critical in the game series. It also redesigns the animus and how it’s used to make things look more spectacular and more “big budget.” Instead of seeing Michael Fassbender act out the past, imagine if he was just sitting in his chair like Desmond Miles did in the game. Not as interesting and big budget. This movie relies heavily on it’s action sequences, which aren’t bad but fails to go into detail on the actual story itself. This is basically just an action move with a bare bones story and it does nothing for me.

Opinion Time: My opinion of the movie is based strongly off of the fact that I’ve played mostly all the Assassin’s Creed games. I was wondering if there was someone out there who didn’t play the games and felt differently about the movie. If you’re one of those people, please feel free to let me know how you felt about the movie in the comments section.

There are a bunch of people in this movie, but the main concentration is on Michael Fassbender. The whole weight of this movie falls onto his shoulders and it’s up to him to carry it. While he does as good of a job as he can carrying this movie, it’s just not his best role. Michael Fassbender has played a lot of good roles, and unfortunately this isn’t one of them.

Overall I give this movie a 1 out of 5.

If you’re a fan of the Assassin’s Creed game series, I would recommend not wasting your time by watching this movie. It loosely follows the story from the game and is kind of boring. There are a lot of differences form the game to the movie and not all of them are good. If you haven’t played the games, you might want to give this movie a try because it might be like a fresh start, but I think it might be a little confusing to new comers. The choice is ultimately up to you, but I would give it a strong pass.

TwitterYouTube

5 Comments

  1. Wow. Hated the movie that much? I haven’t watched it yet. Is it on dvd yet? I’m waiting on a blu ray release.

    • Hated it that much. As far as video games turned into movies goes, this one was one of the worst. I’m pretty sure it’s been available on blue ray for a few weeks now.

  2. I am so let down. I was quite excited to watch, but when I heard the first reviews, I was turned off. Guess I will never get around to watching.

    • I was super excited about this movie when I first heard about it because it wasn’t supposed to be like all of the other crappy video game movies, but it turned out to be one of the worst of them all. If you don’t mind wasting two hours of your life, I would say watch it for free if you could.

      • Yea, probably not wanna waste two hours on it lol. Maybe eventually will get around to downloading but I’m not gonna make the effort now lol.

Leave a Reply

