I Never Finished…Assassin’s Creed: Revelations…Because

Assassin's Creed: Revelations

During this time of my very long and on going gaming history, I was a huge Assassin’s Creed fan. I think at this point in time which was roughly 2011, a lot of people loved this series. This was all because of Assassin’s Creed 2 which then went onto Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, which then went on to the end of the Ezio story in Assassin’s Creed: Revelations. There was a reason though why I never finished this game so keep reading to find out why.

Assassin’s Creed: Revelations, puts you once again in the shoes of Ezio Auditore for his final chapter in the game series. You’ll also take on the roles of Altiar as well as Desmond Miles. If you’ve followed Assassin’s Creed, the you know that both Altiar and Ezio are ancestors of Desmond. Desmond has been accessing Altiar’s and Ezio’s memories through the Animus. After the events of Brotherhood, Desmond is left in a coma. It’s a fight to save Desmond as well and the only way to do it is to live through the final days of Altiar and Ezio. By doing this, Desmond will also find a way to stop the 2012 apocalypse (remember when that was a thing?).

I’ve played a lot of Assassin’s Creed games, and there are still more than a few in my backlog because even though I don’t pre-order them anymore, I still end up purchasing them. This was one of those games though where the series started going downhill. It started with Revelations and then really showed itself with Assassin’s Creed III, I think it redeemed itself a little with Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, but then went downhill again. Without going into the whole series though, I did actually finish the game, played the whole story and watched how both the Altiar and Ezio story came to an end. No matter how hard I tried though, I just could not go back and play this game again. There just didn’t seem like a reason to do this because the story was flaky at best and some of the 100% synchronization actions seemed just about impossible to me. I also couldn’t take the multiplayer for this game which is a constant grind no matter what and just gave up being content that this game would end up never being finished.

There are a total of 70 trophies for this game, 50 from the original game and then another 20 added on as DLC. Out of the 50 for the original game, because I never bothered with the multiplayer, I was able to get 25. Not bad if you ask me. Looking back, I’m missing, of course, a couple of multiplayer trophies, not as many as I would have thought, but I’m also missing a bunch of random trophies throughout the game, and apparently I never finished the last Desmond Miles sequence. It’s still a lot of trophies to be missing and will require at least another playthrough of the game and a lot of multiplayer grinding.

Probability of this game getting played again…2 out of 5.

Even though I own this game, I’m not really keen on going back and trying to play this game all over again. There were a lot of things I didn’t like about this game, like the Mediterranian Defense game as well as the overall story which I thought was lacking from the previous games. Might I get the Assassin’s Creed itch one day and play the games that I didn’t finish from start to finish? Maybe, but it’s a huge maybe.

Assassin's Creed: Revelations

Now it’s your turn. Did you feel like I did and feel like this was a turning point in the series where things went downhill? Maybe you thought this was a great way to end Ezio’s story and you absolutely loved the game. Maybe you even have the platinum trophy for this game. Let me know in the comments section below. As for next week, my final WWE game. I like to think of this as my last chance game for the WWE series. If it ended up on this list though it means I never finished it and I’ll let you know why I never finished WWE ’12 next week.

TwitterYouTube

7 Comments

  1. Not a bad game. Like you say, the series really hit a low at AC 3 but I enjoyed this one, but nowhere near as much as the previous 3. Only 2 very rough dlc trophies to go, which I’ll never get.

    • AC 3 was just horrible in so many ways. It was a complete and total let down.

      Which DLC trophies are you missing for this one?

      • Whoops that should be achievements 😀 …
        Just these 2: Complete the Animus testing sequence without failing. And Make it across the river Styx without failing.

      • Oh and those are the achievements from Revelations. In 3 I have about 10 to go. A total mixture. I loved the King Washington ones though.

      • That’s not a lot of achievements to go on either game. I think if you really wanted them that you could go back and get them.

  2. Completely agree! I hated the Mediterranean defense. I never went back and played after completing, and its just been sitting on my shelf ever since.

    • The Mediterranean defense was probably the worst thing they could have incorporated into that game. I’m sure this one will be sitting in that same sleeve that it’s in years from now just so I can shake my head every time I look at it.

Leave a Reply

