E3 2017 – Part 3 – Bethesda Press Conference

I have to be honest and say that I didn’t watch this one live because I live on the East coast and that would have meant staying up until after 12 when I had to get up the next morning at 5:30 to be at work. It wasn’t happening, but I did get up early the next morning and watched while I ate my breakfast before work. Anyway, I was kind of confused as to why Bethesda was having a conference this year because I really didn’t think they would have much to show off. Keep reading to see if the conference was worth it or not.

It looks like Bethesda is trying to re-do their image with the whole theme park thing. I know it worked for Fallout 4 and was fun and creative, but for the company as a whole, I’m not really sure it worked. It made them look campy and I really wasn’t digging it. Anyway, there was a huge focus on the VR stuff that included Doom VFR and Fallout 4 VR. I’m still not catching onto this phase and I’m not sure why they would spend so much resources already making these First person games into VR. This had me shrugging my shoulders as they moved onto some Elder Scrolls Online talk. There’s a bunch of content added in already and they concentrated a little on the new release of Morrowind. This is one of those games that I played at launch, but could never really get into so I had that glazed over look while I watched because I must be doing something wrong when it comes to this game. Then there was a focus on Elder Scrolls Legends which is basically Gwent, just not available on console. If this was available on a console I would have more interest in it, but since it’s not I just shrugged my shoulders again.

Bringing The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim to switch was a big thing especially since you can dress up as Link. Who doesn’t want that, am I right? While I watched the person playing, I thought to myself, “this looks like a really difficult way to play Skryim.” Anyone else think that? Then there was some new Dishonored content which was basically what Uncharted did with The Lost Legacy. It’s kind of like a DLC but it’s stretched out longer to get more money. Since I still haven’t played either Dishonored game, this will be a pass until I can at least play one or both of those games.

Then there was stuff like this new Creation Club for mods, but the catch is that you have to pay for them. I’m not sure if you use real money, like the money I get from working, or money that you earn in game. This was a little confusing to me because who would pay for mods with real money? Then of course there was the eSports section that showed off the Quake Championships. This made me wish that I could be good at one of these games and actually compete so that I could say I played video games for a living instead of working like everyone else.

Finally, the show ended with two big reveals because it turns out they didn’t have too much to show this year which is why the conference was super short. It first started off with The Evil Within 2. This looked a lot like Silent Hill for me, but I still haven’t played the first one so I’m not sure. Also it’s a super scary horror game which is probably why the first one is still sitting in my backlog. Good news is that it comes out this year on 10.13.2017 which just happens to be Friday the 13th. Nice marketing strategy. The last game they showed off was Wolfenstine II: The New Collusus. This game looked pretty amazing. I have to say thought that I have two Wolfenstine games in my backlog that I would like to play before this comes out because I liked how it had this BioShock feel to it. Everything about it from the gameplay to the cinematics looks amazing and it looks like a really fun game and the good news is that it also comes out this year on 10.27.2017. Looks like this year is shaping up to be a pretty huge year for games again.

And that was it, I felt the conference was a little weak because they only ran for about half an hour and they didn’t have much to show. There was no HUGE game like when they announced Fallout 4 or even when they announced the Skyrim remaster. Those were huge, I felt like this year just didn’t bring it and I hope that next year if they do a conference they’ll have a little more.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

