I Never Finished…Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine…Because

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine

Are you surprised that this is another PS+ game? Well you really shouldn’t be because I did say that there were going to be a lot of them. I’m telling you that if you’re unemployed free games are like your best friend because you don’t have to pay for them. You pay that one time subscription for the year, which isn’t that bad and then you get a bunch of games that you can download every month and play. Granted they aren’t all great, but sometimes that’s all you have. Anyway, onto why I never finished this game.

In this third person shooter, one of my favorite genre of games, you’ll play as Titus. Titus is the 2nd Company Commander is the Ultramarines who is tasked with freeing Graia from the Orks who have invaded. Once you get there though you’ll find out that more than just the Orks threaten Graia and that the Forces of Chaos, who are deadlier than the Orks because they can open portals and summon daemons, also threaten the area. It’s up to you and you’re two squad mates Sidonus and Leandros to put a stop to the threat once and for all.

I was actually having a good time playing this game. The story line is bland and over used, but it was something new to play and I was going along just fine playing about a chapter a day until I decided to go into the multiplayer. This was when I put this game away and never went back to it. The multiplayer was seriously just horrible as I had no idea what I was doing or what the hell was going on that it made me give up on the game completely. I never even seen how the game ended, which at the time was kind of rare for me because with the big games, I always finished at least the main story even though I might not have finished the game’s trophies. I was just a few chapters away from finishing the game too which kind of makes me upset, but sometimes it happens.

As you can see from the picture above, I was able to get only 14 out of the 60 trophies this game has to offer. There are 51 for the main game, including the platinum, and then another 9 for some DLC. Anyway, I was able to get some of the random trophies that these type of games tend to offer as well as the story trophies. Other than that everything is still kind of a blank slate and there are still a lot of trophies to get.

Probability of this game getting played again…2 out of 5.

While I’m not that interested in this game at the moment, it still sits on my PS3. When I turn my PS3 on, which I know is a rare things these days, I still take a look at it every once in a while to just think about pressing the X and playing again. I’m pretty sure that I’m going to have to start fresh on this one because I lost all my data when my previous PS3 crashed, but that’s fine. Maybe one of these days I’ll pick up this game again.

Now it’s your turn. Did you also get this game because of PS+ or did you run out and buy this game because you were a fan? Love it, hate it, or trying to still finish it? Let me know in the comments section. I’m not sure if the servers are still up, but if you were looking for a multiplayer partner who really wasn’t that good to help out, let me know. It might just get me to turn on my PS3 and pick this game up again. Now for next week, a game that I really really enjoyed even though none of my friends at the time did which is probably why I stopped playing it in the first place. Anyway, it’s Gotham City Impostors and I’ll let you know why I never finished it next week.

TwitterYouTube

4 Comments

  1. I tried to get into Warhammer and couldn’t. I’ve played many games in this series and never cared for the lore, characters, or factions. I’ve also never completed this game and the multiplayer was a mess for sure.

    • This was probably my first and last Warhammer game. You’re right though, the characters really aren’t that great in the game and it’s hard to establish a connection with them making it difficult to play.

  2. Finished the campaign many years ago, I got it on pc my older brother got a copy too cuase it was cheap. Gameplay was a bit sluggish, but I enjoyed it to a certain extent. What sucked was multiplayer and the grind for new armour and gear. What sucked too was you the newb would be dealt into games with overpowered veterans with heatseek snipers(im exagerating a bit) . Killing you while you are still trying to light the fuse on your gun… storywise you will not miss much if you read enough of Dan Abnett’s books, they tend to have the same ending always.

Leave a Reply

