Puzzle Showdown 4K Review (PS4)

Puzzle Showdown 4K

As I said in my previous reviews, a few weeks ago I picked up four games that were on sale and this is one of them. You can read my review of my other sale games Baseball Riot, here, and Tina’s Toy Factory, here. I had also been watching this game for a while now because of my love for puzzles. The only thing with actual puzzles is that once they’re done you either take them apart after spending hours doing them, or put them together and try to store them somewhere. Anyway, I figured a digital way to put together puzzles would be fun and it was on sale so I figured I would give it a go.

Since this is a game about putting puzzles together there is no story. This is one of those games though where I really wasn’t expecting one to begin with because it’s just about putting together puzzles. You have over 50 puzzles that you can put together and you can chose a bunch of different options ranging from how many puzzles pieces, to if you want to be scored, and what kind of background you want when putting your puzzle together. The possibilities are endless and there are enough puzzles to keep a puzzle junkie like myself busy for hours.

I really enjoyed this game because it gave me digital puzzles to put together and then cleaned them up for me when I was done. I didn’t have to do this myself or try to glue them together and then store them somewhere, I was just able to put them together and move on. The pictures that they give you to choose from are stunning and range from abstract, to people, to animals, to cityscapes, and landscapes. I never found myself getting bored while playing this game and when I was done I just moved onto the next puzzle.

The mechanics for this game are super simple because you have your puzzle board and you’re given five puzzle pieces. Pick your piece and see where it fits on the board. If you’re looking for a challenge turn rotation on because the pieces won’t be in the correct position when they’re given to you. The one thing I didn’t like though was that you were only given 5 pieces at time. Now if these aren’t the pieces that you want you can discard them one at a time, but this is an overly complicated thing to do and takes up a lot of time. Other than that the game ran bug and glitch free.

The graphics for this game were great because they were puzzles which are pictures that you have to put together. The pictures chosen for this game are beautiful and I really enjoyed putting together the different types of puzzles. I did have a problem though with the background that wasn’t the puzzle. It was this color changing background with floating puzzle pieces. At times this became hard to look at and was distracting as the puzzle pieces changed colors randomly going from dark to light and depending on the size of the puzzle you were working on it became a little disorientating.

Finish this game, which isn’t a hard thing to do, and you’ll walk away with 16 regular trophies and a platinum trophy. Not a bad deal if you ask me. The trophies are super simple and you’ll get them just by playing. There are a few trophies that require some co-op play, a trophy based on time, and a grindy type of trophy. The grindy type of trophy is fine because you’ll have to complete 50 puzzles. If you use the 28 piece puzzles you can blow through this is less than an hour. The co-op trophies aren’t bad and if anything you’ll only struggle with the time limit trophy which requires you to put together a 510 piece puzzle in less than 2 hours.

I noticed the co-op portion of this game after I purchased it and cringed at the thought of playing co-op. Shout out to LMD for helping me out with these trophies and then for sticking around even after the trophies were earned. I found the co-op to be fun as it became a competition to see who could place the most amount of puzzles pieces and score the most points. Who knew that putting together a puzzle with someone would actually be that much fun?

Overall I give this game a 4 out of 5.

What’s Great:
+ You get to put together puzzles without having to think about what you’re going to do with them afterwards.
+ There are a bunch of puzzles to work on and not only are there different types of puzzles, but they’re all beautiful.
+ The co-op mode is actually really fun because it turns puzzle creating into a competition if you want and who doesn’t love some good competition?

What’s Not So Great:
You only get 5 puzzle pieces at a time and it’s really a pain to discard them to get another random piece instead of being able to choose which piece you want next.
After you finish all of the puzzles and do everything the game has to offer, there really isn’t a replay value.

If you’re a fan of putting together puzzles then this is the perfect game for you. There’s plenty of puzzles to choose from and a bunch of different ways to play. You can even play with a friend if you want. Although I would recommend picking this game up and giving it a try, I wouldn’t recommend paying the full $9.99 for this game and instead try picking it up on sale. When it comes down to price, it’s not worth the full price especially since after you finish there is no replay value.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

