I Never Finished…The Simpsons Arcade Game…Because

The Simpsons Arcade Game

This game I remember playing originally at Nathan’s Arcade Section. In my younger days, my dad would surprise me with a trip to the arcade at least once a month, twice if I was lucky, and hand me a fistful of quarters. This was like gold to me and every single time I would run to the Simpsons Arcade Game hoping that no one else was playing it. Even then I didn’t want to play with some random person. That must relate to why I don’t like playing multiplayer all that much now. Anyway, I had seen this game on PSN and was tempted because I spent so many quarters on this game but passed it up until a friend asked me to play it with her so that we both had a nostalgia moment since she also played the arcade version. Unfortunately, it ended up on this list so keep reading to find out why.

In The Simpsons Arcade Game you get to play as a member of The Simpsons family including Bart, my personal favorite, Lisa, Homer, and Marge. It’s your job to rescue Maggie who has been kidnapped by Smithers. The Simpsons just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time and while Smithers was robbing a bank, a diamond accidently ended up in Maggie’s mouth resulting in Smithers kidnapping her. The family will have to fight its way through various different levels in order to rescue Maggie and bring her home.

I really enjoyed this game, probably as much as I enjoyed it while playing the original Arcade game. It’s a fun, action packed 2D side scroller that has you beating up enemy after enemy in order to save Maggie. While on the Arcade mode, I was never able to make it to the end no matter how hard I tried, I finally made it to the end on the PSN version. I have to say it was well worth the wait that after all those years I was finally able to see the end of this game. Even though I finished it, I still never really finished it and by that I mean I never got all the trophies for this game. So like I said, a friend of mine wanted me to play with her so I did, but I ended up getting ditched and this game ended up being forgotten about as I moved on because I had no one to play with. While I did enjoy playing it, it was meant to play with someone else and when that disappeared so did my enjoyment for the game.

As you can see from the pictures above, I was able to get 5 out of the 12 trophies for this game. It’s not bad and all I really have to do is finish the game in under 30 minutes, play with all 4 characters, play with three other people, and some difficulty specific trophies. Not that many trophies and it probably could easily be accomplished in one day if I really tried.

Probability of this game getting played again…5 out of 5.

I know my backlog is huge, but I’ve been feeling a little nostalgic lately and I think it’s time to get back to this game and finally finish it because I know that I could. I also think it would be fun seeing that it’s been 5 years from when I originally downloaded it to start all over again and see how well I can actually do and if I can actually complete it to 100%.

Now it’s your turn. What did you think about this game? Did you also play the original arcade version before switching to the PSN version? Are you like me and didn’t finish this game? Maybe you’re looking for a multiplayer partner. If the servers are still active let me know and I’m willing to tag along and play a few games. Now for next week, a game that I really liked and the only thing that’s holding me back from the 100% is 4 trophies. Ugh! Anyway, next week I’ll let you know why I never finished Anomaly Warzone Earth.

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

