Game of Thrones: Episode 6 – The Ice Dragon Review (PS4)

The final episode of Game of Thrones is finally here after 11 long months of waiting for this game as a whole to be complete. To be honest with you, since the last episode came out in July I really couldn’t even remember what the hell had actually happened. I mean I knew the big, and I mean really big, decision that took place, but for the life of me I couldn’t remember what else had happened that episode. Was it important, did it matter that I basically walked into this episode completely clueless as to what was going on? Keep reading to find out.

This episode starts out with this games most boring character who is just shoved down your throat each and every episode, Garred Tuttle. Out of all the characters who bit the dust in this last episode, I really wish he was one of them. This game has seriously made him out to be way more important then he should actually be and at this point I was tired of him. Anyway, this episode takes him right to the North Grove, one of the big mysteries surrounding this whole game. What is the North Grove, what does it do, and why does it need to be protected? During this episode you’ll kind of find out but still be left with a bunch of questions at the end.

Next it’s onto Mira at King’s Landing. The shit is hitting the fan over there because its King’s Landing, if you watch the show you know what I mean. Anyway Mira’s story can diverge into a lot of different paths this time around and honestly, for me, it was one of the more interesting storylines in this episode. Without going into that many spoilers at the moment, for me Mira’s story did not end well because apparently I don’t really know how to play the game that goes on at King’s Landing.

And finally onto Rodrik because I stupidly decided to keep him alive instead of Asher. I regretted my decision the moment this episode started and basically knew it wasn’t going to end well. The Whitehills are on the march to Ironwrath and the people of Ironwrath are outnumbered. Of course they are, Lord Whitehill has a whole damn army and the people of Ironwrath think that in some miraculous event they’ll actually defeat him, but they forget that this is Game of Thrones and things never end well for the people you’re rooting for. With Asher out of the picture I was really hoping to be able to play Beshka this time around, but it didn’t happen. (The way things ended, I’m thinking she’ll be one of the main characters next season.) Needless to say, the battle at Ironwrath is a complete bloodbath and the fighting doesn’t really come to a resolution by the end of the episode. You may think it does, but there’s still some uncertainty.

Kudos: While I didn’t care about this episode as much as I should since it was the final episode that I was waiting for, I’ll get into why in a little bit, I absolutely loved that little 10 minute display at the end of the episode that showed all of the decisions that were made and had all of the Game of Thrones actual cast talking about the Forresters depending on what decisions they made throughout the game. I thought it summed up the season really nicely and it was one of the highlights of the episode as a whole.

As much as I wanted to play this episode, I really couldn’t get into it. Yes, the storyline was interesting and there was a lot that took place and a lot of setup if Telltale decides to continue on with this and make another season, but part of why I couldn’t get into it was because this game took so damn long to be complete. There was absolutely no reason why it took 4 months for the final episode to come out. None at all. After the release of episode 5 it should have taken a minimum of a month for the final episode to be released. I really feel that Telltale dropped the ball with this game and it needs a lot of improvement if they want a second season to be successful.

Same Telltale game, unfortunately same playability. There were times when the game stalled on me and I was thinking “shit, I’m going to have to restart all over again” before the game actually decided to work again. I also had some minor loading problems and sometimes I would hear the dialog before a picture even came up. At one point, although not a major glitch, the beginning credits of who made the game stuck to the bottom right corner of the screen in a very faded out white, I thought it was my TV until the scene changed and it was gone. This lasted about 15 minutes and was just distracting. I will say that the battle scenes though were pretty flawless. Although they were just quick time events, If you’ve played Telltale games before you shouldn’t have been expecting anything different, I thought they were well done and I was extremely happy at the response time. I did the action that the screen told me to and was rewarded with it actually working.

This is my least favorite part of the review, the graphics. At first I was impressed this time around. Yes, I’ve complained about the Saturday Morning Special type graphics that was given to this Game of Thrones game, but I’ve gotten used to them even though I don’t like them. During the first couple of scenes, the backgrounds weren’t blurry painting like backgrounds, they were looking really good, especially the North Grove. At first the graphics were full of detail and I was surprised, but my surprise turned into disappointment as they went back to the blurry mess that they’ve been all season. It was like someone had tried and then gave up in the middle of the episode.

Finish this episode in its entirety and you’ll get yourself another 8 trophies along with the platinum trophy for this game if you’ve been playing all the episodes. Pat yourself on the back because even though this platinum wasn’t hard to get, all you had to do was play the game, it was probably one of the most tedious platinum trophies that I got all year.

No multiplayer for this game, and we should all give a thankful sigh of relief.

Overall I give this episode a 3 out of 5

What’s Great:
+ Interesting overall storyline that ends the season on a not so high note, but in true Game of Thrones fashion.
+ Responsive quick time events that really matter during the battle scenes.

What’s Not So Great:
This episode took way too long to come out, as did the game as a whole making me just not care as much as I should have.
While it looked like the graphics were improving, whoever worked on them seemed to just give up midway and went back to how the graphics were in the previous episodes.
Stalling, loading time issues, and other common Telltale problems that I shouldn’t even have to go into detail about.

Overall I was pretty disappointed by this game as a whole. Game of Thrones is one of my favorite shows and I thought that if anyone could do a game version justice it would be Telltale. I was sadly mistaken and I’m not even sure if I would play a second season. The PS3 disc version of this game will have to be extremely cheap for me to actually want to play it again. While the overall story was interesting and it was nice to see the game branch out to a new house that isn’t developed in the show while incorporating the events of the show into the game along with the characters, I just don’t think it worked all that well. If you’re a fan of the show who’s been holding out to play this one, I just don’t know what to say this time around. If you’re set on playing then wait until there’s a sale on the disc version so that at least when you’re done you can turn around and sell it. If you’ve waited this long you can wait a little longer.

SPOILERS! Below are the choices that I made for the sixth episode.

Game of Thrones

TwitterYouTube

Leave a Reply

